114 Comments

I think that the teen boy on The Rehearsal is the son of the actor that plays Sonny on General Hospital-Maurice Bernard. The son’s name is Joshua.

Expand full comment

I watched The Rehearsal after listen to the podcast since I am on a pub trivia team. I had major concerns about how the child actors were processing the experience so I was not surprised by the final episodes. It not an obvious fake environment (like I assume a TV set is like)for the really young actors and could be really confusing. Imagine when their older trying to explain this job to their friends.

Expand full comment

All I'm gonna say about The Rehearsal is that there were probably more actors than it seems and the second season is going to be all about how Nathan Fielder built sets of all of our houses and we are all now somehow in the show (I'm with Caissie on this one... it's not for her. But, I'll probably most likely watch season 2 in the same way I'm watching House of the Blonde Wigs on HBO Max and I'm not really sure what says about me in all honesty).

Expand full comment

Also... (yes, I'm replying to myself), I want to say that this might have been the kind of show I could have found somewhat entertaining pre-pandemic. But now, it just seems super manipulative and weird, and that's not something I'm here for at the moment when everything IRL is super manipulative and weird (maybe Nathan could read the room?).

Expand full comment

Happy to see discussion of the pod on Substack. Caissie, I was so glad excited for you that someone specifically sought you out for the audition. It’s a reminder to me that other people can imagine possibilities that might not occur to me. What we see as leaps, other people just see as natural moves.

Expand full comment

You guys were my road trip buddies this week. I just got home and I feel fired up as usual after listening. Caissie, I hope all your dreams come true and you book this job if you want it. Sometimes it just feels nice to be wanted, you know ? Busy, we are not judging you for still living with your ex or being attached to things. I had an electrician in my house a few months ago and he came into my bedroom and said “ you have a lot of clothes, wow” he was judging us and I didn’t appreciate it. Let me live!!!!

Expand full comment
founding

My husband and I watched The Rehearsal and looked at it like an art piece/experiment. I think Nathan totally knew all the arcs that would play out. If nothing else, It has led to lots of interesting conversations. It also reminded me of books/shows/movies where you see the same event from all different perspectives. Always so interesting to me!

Expand full comment

I didn't watch The Rehearsal but I just saw a tweet that someone (Angela) from the show was on Cameo! Interesting in light of the convo on the pod!

Expand full comment

okay as a YA author i gotta say, Caissie, that AI child actor book sounds creepy as hell and could totally sell as a YA dystopian horror. horror is having a real comeback right now!

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Some context for The Rehearsal (that I read online but have no way of independently verifying 😊) - the first episode was filmed pre-pandemic and then it all got shut down due to covid. So the first ep feeling like a total different vibe was a pandemic thing. The single person rehearsal, smaller scale set up was the original plan for the show, but then they had to pivot (☺️) to a smaller cast, fewer locations, etc in Oregon to get production back underway. It'll be interesting to see if season 2 is more episodic (like Nathan for You and the first ep of The Rehearsal) or if they go into a longer, larger scale experiment again.

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2022·edited Aug 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Got through this week’s episode just in time to catch The C word. 😫

Thankfully I have this forum to keep me entertained now in between crying episodes! I have not seen “Rehearsal-“ ing, but it sounds interesting. I found it interesting that Busy warned against child acting while Birdie has entered the field. I would love to hear more on that. I am sure it is so scary as well as rewarding to watch them follow in her footsteps.

On another note: I can so relate with all of the accumulating stuff and moving across the country pain. We just moved to Asheville and previously lived in Seattle with a short stop in Ohio. Lots of storage units along the way! Ugh- I think as emotionally draining as it is to purge I think it also allows for more brain space and looking forward to what is to come.

Anyways- I love the long podcasts and all the Besties here. Thank you Cassie & Busy for opening your lives to us each week! Your honesty, humility, and wit keep me going in this crazy world!! I am also, here for a Cassie book whenever it is ready..

Love it 💞

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Every week I am amazed by how excited I get to listen to "My Podcast". You wonderful humans have really been the voices of resonance in this world of discord. Thank you for every precious minute. Sending love 💕

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I LOVED LOVED Dr. Annie!!! I’m from SC originally and it makes me SO PROUD to see a smart badass woman running for office! I’m going to see if I can figure out how to text-bank for her.

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Also I need to be sure to thank you for the extra-long episode. 🥰

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Busy's story about Cricket not knowing what keys are gave me the best laugh. The voice she does for Cricket and then how she said they were so focused on telling Birdie about everything and poor Cricket doesn't know what a key looks like...bahahaha, it just made my day🤣

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

There's a bar in my city (Omaha,NE) and they partnered with a local book store and did a Scholastic Book Fair for adults!!

Expand full comment
Aug 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

First, thanks for giving us this option to discuss the podcast! I gave up on facebook years ago and recently gave up on instagram because it was just facebook with pictures.

One of the things I love about this podcast is it opens memories for me. When Caissie mentioned her son's 1970s era truck, it opened a memory of my dad's 1972 Dodge Pickup. I don't even think Dodge was calling their trucks "Rams" yet. It didn't have air conditioning either. It also didn't have fancy leather seats or carpeting. The upholstery was vinyl and it did have a plug in the cab's floor so you could drain the water if you needed to hose it out after using it for something. But it ran like a trooper and you could actually fix it yourself. We took it on countless fishing trips and up into the mountains to get firewood and it worked like a trooper. It was the kind of truck you could use to do anything, and it's probably a good thing that New Mexico doesn't require safety inspections. Hadn't thought about a lot of that stuff in a while and it was good to spend an afternoon thinking about it. So I gotta say thanks for bringing those memories to the surface.

I do have to admit I was confused by the whole "The Rehearsal" discussion, though. I've never watched it. However, from what I heard on the podcast, I think that much like HBO's Euphoria and TikTok its just another one of those things that's just not for me.

Going to close with a "Yay for Me" thing. Went out for bagels today. The place I go to is about 9 miles from my house. This was the first time since mid March that I made the whole trip there and back without having to go through a single road or street construction project. For the Pittsburgh area this is damn near a miracle. Celebrate the little stuff. It's important.

Take care everyone. Also, remember its that time of year again. Please remember to keep an eye out for school zones and school buses and students walking along the side of the road. Drive carefully. Speed limits are there for a reason. Take care.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I'm *almost* finished with this week's pod. So excited that Caissie had the opportunity to try something new and went for it! Also, I'm certain The Rehearsal is not for me/her.

I'm still thinking back to previous episode discussions of doing a BPIDHB camp. I never went to summer camp as a kid, either. I'd love to attend a camp with you all! I recently learned there's a company that organizes custom camps for adults (https://clubgetaway.com/). I haven't been to any camps they've coordinated, but a dear friend of mine has (twice) and she really, really loved it!

I'm also on board for the Scholastic Book Fair for Adults.

Love you! Thanks for brightening every week with your podcast and Substack posts (especially the secret video links!!).

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

You’re doing it great!!! About scams... I love a good scam story. What about having Laci Mosley on the pod? She has another favourite podcast (along with yours) called Scam Goddess. It is hilarious and the scams are just perfect.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Another comment about the ep - I think C's point that some Housewives are savvier than others is a really key point. This would make a great book topic.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Not sure if I'll have time to watch The Rehearsal, sounds interesting though! However I did watch the last movie stars doc by Ethan Hawke, it hits on some of the themes you touched on this week, would be interested to hear what you and Busy think, especially the actors voicing the parts are of our generation (or a little older) 😄 always love the long pods✌🏻

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thanks for the Kitsch promo this week! I finally took the plunge and bought some of the satin pillow cases that I had been thinking about. Also bought more of the towel scrunchies, I love to use them to dry my hair!

Expand full comment

Still listening... but once Busy finds the axolotl I hope she shares where to find... yes I am googling and yes i am close to NYC so, if she finds a place she trusts... this mom wants info... cause her twins have wanted one probably since the start of the pandemic.. is that when our kids where first introduced to them... I don’t remember.

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I love the long episodes 😊👍

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Finally finished the Pod and please don’t ever change the format! How else would we have heard the Madonna, Dave, remaining Members of Nirvana story Cassie?! I love when you share your Stories from the Dave/Rosie days! One day please tell us about the Mayhem before Babs and Tom were on the Rosie Show please 😊

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

There came a point where I was determined to keep listening despite having no idea who that dude is and certainly no idea what show you were discussing. 😂 I was committed. BUT! The things you talked about were still super relevant and interesting, so it was all good (especially the stuff about kids/consent/the internet/social media).

It was super cool to hear Caissie talk about her audition experience and just the whole concept of how it feels when someone seeks you out for something you wouldn’t expect them to think of you for - it’s a really specific, nice feeling, and I love that for you.

(PS: 10/10 love this discussion thread post concept!)

Expand full comment
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie- I’m with you on the Rehearsal. Not for me in all the ways you described. I only watched two episodes. Also I totally want to read your YA book, I’m sure many others in here concur!

Congrats on the acting opportunity, hope you get it but also if not, something else inspiring will come along.

My heart goes out to Busy, the dividing of stuff is so emotional, especially for someone like her that has such connections to her things.

Love to you both! 💕

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie, I love how you know we would be defensive of you with the show you auditioned for and you don’t want to say the name because we would all hate it if you don’t get it. That really made me smile. (And you’re 100 percent accurate! 😂🤷🏻‍♀️)

Also when you said you feel like you know everyone who listens I thought, I hope it includes me! ☺️✨

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022·edited Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Whoah whoah whoah. Started the Rehearsal and holy shit! This show is wild. I find it so fascinating and also so uncomfortable.. insanely drawn to it like Caissie says on the pod. And yet it's probably not the best thing to watch.

This pod is stuff of dreams. Almost 4 hours with you two. I literally feel like we are just picking up like old friends. Solid.

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

My cats totally do the 69/ kick each other in the face thing. It's ridiculous! (And looks painful.)

I'm very interested in watching Nathan Fielder's show now, so thanks for the rec!

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I got to the Nathan Fielder section, but the photo still doesn't make sense! I considered watching the thing so I become more aware, but then I think I've decided not to do that either. 5....4...3...2...1?

Expand full comment

I am still confused by the robot pic, too. I’m like ‘did I miss something in the pod?’ Also, don’t think The Rehearsal is for me either. If someone gets the robot pic, please explain!!

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’m a huge Bernie fan and these Bernie bros make me so angry. I love the man, but I know he can’t do things on his own. The Bernie bros are just as bad as the MAGA people to me. They have their beliefs and HOW DARE YOU DISAGREE! Doesn’t help us move the progressive agenda forward.

Also, in not very shocking news, the Bernie bros are mostly white males...the arrogance and misogyny doesn’t only show up on the right.

That said, in my support of Bernie I had to experience a lot of push back from friends because of the Bernie bros and that pissed me off too. They aren’t his only supporters and using them as an excuse not to listen to what other supporters have to say makes a person just as bad as the bros. IF people want to have political discourse with me then they need to be willing to listen to my views and share in a civil manner.

Expand full comment
author

I was mostly pushing back against the idea that that person was trying to tell me Bernie was the only person who could fix the country. That, to me, was laughable. Because I don't even really think it's that important who is elected, honestly, it's how everyone works together to support the person who is elected, both as members of the government & citizens of the country. Which is why I definitely would have voted for Bernie, despite him not being *my* choice, if he got the nomination. But he never did. Biden wasn't my first choice either, but I'm supporting the shit out of him, LOL!

Expand full comment
founding

Totally agree. The working together part is something a lot of people forget about. Nothing can be done alone.

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I swear I see and hear carvana irl more than ever now that caissie has had her ongoing beef with them.

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Congratulations on the awesome audition opportunity Caissie, we are all always rooting for you & proud of you!

What is happening with that stupid bloody car?

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Unless you don’t want to talk about the stupid bloody car anymore which is totally understandable. 💛

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

speaking of losing parts I will say I auditioned for The Morning Show and got no where near the end up still little sad about missing that one.

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Halfway through and I don’t think anyone has said this yet but WTF is this book Cassie, I definitely want to read it! Also googled since you mentioned another book and Worst Vampire Ever is now in my reading list and I’ll probably recommend it to my kid!

Expand full comment

Yessss!! Dystopian speculatively fiction is my JAM

Expand full comment

Have you read Crier’s War?

Expand full comment

No, but I looked it up on Goodreads and added it to my tbr. It sounds good!

Expand full comment

Sounds like it’s be right up your alley! I liked it!

Expand full comment
founding

Yes I’m dying to read the book!!!

Expand full comment

Omg yes!!! Please put the book here on the ‘stack’

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Love that we now can comment here as I really dislike Facebook and Meta in general. Would like to get off their apps but quite frankly as WhatsApp is our family communication lifeline I can’t give up Meta altogether. The chat with Dr Annie was fantastic I would love a serious debate on the value of career politicians surely fixed terms or enforced periods in the real world would lead to less partisanship.

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

PS. Yes I clicked on the link in my email and got to the discussion.

I only saw a clip of The Rehearsal on Nightly Pop and knew it wasn't for me. It made me uncomfortable. Not my type of entertainment.

I wouldn't have considered the impact of the participants. If adults signed up for it, who cares. Kids. I don't know. Could it mess them up more or less since play/pretend is such a big aspect of being a child. Likely very individual. We've heard from adults talking about their child hood experiences. Seems the parents need to know how to manage the pressure for their kids and not focus on $.

I would read a book about robot children actors. 😊

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Wednesday is my favorite day because you both join me at work. I love your friendship. I love the deep dives you take on topics. Your stamina is beyond impressive. Life currently doesn't allow me and my friends enough girl chat time. You fill that gap.

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

“These people are running their mouths unopposed” is burned in my mind and will be in my Pocket forever now. Thanks Caissie!

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Just finished the pod I really do rate 3 hr eps as I basically do hour splits in between work etc and I feel like I get more out of the content whilst I have time to digest the various topics, sort of a like a chapter in a book !

The rehearsal looks super creepy it’s been heavily advertised in Australia for our like Hulu equivalent, doesn’t do it for me at all, super manipulative

Expand full comment

I didn’t know what people were talking about with the last episode of The Rehearsal until I saw it, and it is bizarre. And that the kid’s mom was a super christian as much as the pretend mom was weird. And that poor child. It was fascinating but not ethical. But how much of it is actually a put on? on us?

Congrats on the audition, Cassie, I was always terrible at them and just stopped, even for local theater stuff. I love being on stage, but I can’t take being judged. It lives in my mind for weeks.

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’m still listening too so excited about Caissie’s audition. I want all of the good things for Caissie and Busy!

Expand full comment
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I love this!! My Facebook has been temporarily deactivated for two years and I always feel so sad that I can’t be in the Facebook group

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Still listening but I have comments already 😂. Oh Goonies - I have very fond memories of watching that movie. I feel like Chunk’s sister (maybe?) was on an old TLC organizing show and maybe he showed up on it? Does that ring a bell for anyone else?

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 25, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hey there’s this google thing where I found the answer and I’m right lol. It was Clean Sweep - his mom and sister were on! It’s in his IMDB trivia 😂

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I really related to Busy’s explanation of her attachment to things; I’m exactly the same way! The things I own literally tell the story of my life. But not all the things; I get that, also! I’m downsizing as well, after a few moves and too many storage rental fees. It’s so hard to do it though; you have to face the stuff and make a decision about whether to keep it or let it go. I could use an Eli! A photo text that I respond 👍🏻or 👎🏻would totally work for me, because it’s not a sparks joy thing, it’s about whether there’s a memory attached.

Also, I love Doctor Annie!! Thank you for such an action oriented conversation! We can definitely do hard things, even if we are crying the whole time. Love you both so much!! 😘❤️

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I just wanted to pop in and say... I think The Rehearsal was 100% scripted. Like Blair

Witch but comedy.

Expand full comment

Diane, SAME! Exactly the same. Also for the record: I hated (HATED) Blair Witch.

Expand full comment

I mean, I definitely want to lean that way. Although that child really seemed upset, in a non acting way.

Expand full comment

After Blair Witch really got me... I swore NEVER AGAIN! To support my theory, I’d say they probably built in a “go with it” plan. If on a take something goes wrong, just play it out bcs that could add authenticity to the project.

Expand full comment
author

Interesting! I guess it's possible?

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

My cats do the 69 thing Caissie talked about on today’s podcast. That’s all!😸

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I absolutely love when I go to Spotify on Wednesdays to download the pod and I see the time over 3 hours!! I know it’s going to be good and it never disappoints 💕

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I 100% bought a Helix mattress! I bought it whenever you first advertised it, and I have no regrets. Just wanted you to know! ❤️

Expand full comment

my bed sucks but all beds are so goddamn expensive. Even the cheap ones. I’ve always gotten hand me downs. i paid 100 bucks for one cuz the person was moving, and that ended up being a great bed.

Also I NEVER remember the right codes! I’m like blah blah.com/ busy, /best? /doing my best? /shebusy?

I did get some things they’ve advertised though. And some day when I have an extra 100 bucks I’m gonna get that olive and june mani kit. So, never, lol!

Expand full comment
author

FYI, the codes are always in the episode descriptions on your podcast app & we post them on Facebook too. I think Substack kind of doesn't love the posting of links/codes, so I haven't put them here, but they're out there if you ever want to check one out!

Expand full comment
author

YAY!!! We love ours. My son has one too!

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

My kids will be next on the Helix list! Until then, they will have to deal with the mattresses they have. 😂

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I loved the episode because I loved the story of Caissie and the audition. This opportunity is so neat and couldn’t come to a better person, no matter what the outcome.

And — I’m Laverne + Shirley too!! Have been saying this for years 😂

Expand full comment
founding

Agreed! I’d watch anything you’re in. There are just some people who are genuine that it makes it extra nice to watch them. Caissie, you’re defo someone I’d love to see on TV or in a movie!

Expand full comment
Aug 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Yay !! I can't wait to listen.. I am almost at the end of the previous pod and was laughing so hard on my walk to work yesterday... also not on Facebook, so this is the best !! Thank you Cassie and Busy 😘😘

Expand full comment