40 Comments

Just doing my best to catch up on podcasts.....if I you couldn't hear my talking from over here....the luggage issue....some international airlines have smaller luggage size restrictions than the US airlines (we are posted overseas for my husband's job, so whenever getting new luggage I have to read all the dimensions and am sadly disappointed all the cute luggage is too big for the international travel restrictions).

To add on, the WORST we ever had, was one airline not only had size restrictions but weight restrictions as well for carry on bags. It was limited to 7kg (or 15 lbs)! The weight of our suitcase was 3.5 kg, so that was half the allowance, when we do permanent moves we have to hand carry our medical records.....for 4 people.....that made the 7kgs! So a half empty suitcase with four file folders was what we could roll on. We attempted to put sweatshirts in there for the cold flight, but had to put them on at check in as they put us overweight when they did the weight check for carry ons. As soon as we walked towards security we put them back in. Luckily we weren't selected at the gate for a second carry on bag weigh in!

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 4, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I finally had a chance to listen. By far the best live podcast to listen to at home! Felt both like the regular podcast and like I was right there with you! I've given up listening to other's live ones, but I'm here for live BPIDHB!

Also BUSY DON'T TRAVEL INTO USA WITH JOINTS! It's not ok with the US border guards! Canadians travelling by land get grilled and can even be refused entry if you even admit that you've tried it at some point in your life! They can also search our phones. We make sure we wipe any texts with any reference to it just to be safe.

Anyways, that was a lovely listen as usual 😍

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 3, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

LOVED the live format. it felt like even more of your personalities came through and it was fun to feel like I was laughing along with everyone else while I listened at home. 11/10 to more touring and live recordings!

Expand full comment
Oct 2, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Subject line: Wish I had more time to express love BUT I saw Birdie’s pic with Harry on my explore page from @stylesargentina and I was like AW and also…huh?

I’ve been an ig ghost for a year so I might be totes wrong, but hadn’t seen that pic anywhere else! Not to project my own struggle with sharing on ig—just wanted to make sure someone knew it ended up on the Argentina fan page and I wasn’t sure where else to go😂❤️ My gratitude for Busy+Caissie+this community overfloweth!!

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Can't lie to you. I was worried when you said you'd be recording your live show as a pod episode. I've listened to others who tried this and it just seems like a crap shoot as to whether it will work or not. Also, I tend to worry a lot about stuff and I guess I just needed something else. But not to worry. You two are so at ease with each other that it came off flawlessly. The only downside was I couldn't be there. Loved the stories. As someone who never seems to find pants that are the right length, I so appreciated what Caissie went through to hem her pants. I personally find that some if the problem is that there seems to be no actual standard as to what sixes are. Each designer or company just does whatever they like and we just seem to have to live with it. Luckily I found a good tailor in my neighborhood so that my pants don't drag in the dirt.

I'd never heard the song "Not A Pretty Girl" before. Loved the message it hold. Thanks, Busy!

As you consider doing more of these, I'll just note that Pittsburgh has some nice venues, both large and small. One year we should all gather and do a cruise!

Take care everyone!

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I am so bummed I missed the live show at JFL in Toronto. You guys were amazing ❤️ I felt like I was in the theatre with you even though I was just in my car!

I also deeply feel Busy’s comments and frustration around the carryon bag size with Air Canada. It seems that recently they got a memo to add more stress to stressed out travellers by making them check carefully packed, approved carryon size bags. It doesn’t make sense but I have been there too recently and it is so annoying.

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I saw Ani live when I was about 30 (22 years ago!) and cried when she sang Not a Pretty Girl. It wasn’t just the lyrics that brought me to tears. It was looking around at the hundreds of young girls and feeling all of the sadness and struggle it is to be a girl. And also just how much I love girls! I’m so blessed to have two of my own daughters now, who are both the age of most of Ani’s demographic at the time I saw her (I was old in that audience!). I just sat in my car listening to Busy sing it and I can’t stop crying. So lucky all of you who got to see it live!! It was perfect and beautiful and TIMELY!! Just like Busy & Caissie 💜🙏🏼

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Busy’s Ani cover was incredible. I had no idea she could do that.

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

1) Thank you for doing the live podcast and sharing it with us. Please do more. I would be so happy to attend and hopefully meet you both in an alley 😄

2) I am also originally from Arizona, and I started crying while Busy was talking about the horrifying abortion crap happening there. It really resonated with me when she said that younger versions of ourselves are not getting the same rights that we had. I have been watching some really cool shows from the 90s for the first time (Picket Fences, The Practice). Every time they bring up Roe v. Wade, which is clearly something the creator cares a lot about, it breaks my heart a little. It makes no sense. I should be watching older things and reflecting on how things have changed for the better, not literally crying because women are worse off now than we used to be.

3) Prince Edward Island?? I have literally wanted to visit for my entire life. If a post should appear one day about any and all things related to it, especially your thoughts on the Anne of Green Gables books versus the movies, I would read the hell out of that.

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This was really great. You guys sounded so happy. I laughed so hard at Bust trying to tell this story. It reminded me of the movie up when the dog was distracted by squirrels every minute. Lol. But that’s why we love you guys, it’s like talking to friends. While you were talking this week, I had a brilliant idea...do a podcast that is a response to your podcast! I know it’s genius and it will make me feel I’m part of the conversation. I’m an unrelated area 2 separate people called me “young lady” today and that made me feel young even though I’m not really young. But age is a construct and nobody cares so maybe I shouldn’t feel good about it? Whatever, I do feel good about it! Love you guys 😜❤️

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Who else cried when Busy sang Not a Pretty Girl?

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

😭😭😭 I’m old enough to have had the original Ani release the week it came out (and probably wearing ripped jeans and my most broken in pair of Doc Martens listening to it)... as soon as Busy started singing, my heart jumped into my throat. So beautiful. Thank you for sharing that voice and the feelings behind it. Caissie and Busy, you are the best pandemic-miracle gift with this pod (and now Substack!). Thank you!

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Omg! Yes! It transported me back to seeing Ani live at a club in Barcelona when I was studying abroad in ‘98!

Expand full comment
Sep 30, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Just listened to the podcast (Friday is my podcast + housework day). Loved it, I was surprisingly emotional when Birdie finally got to meet Harry! My eldest daughter is 11 and I can see this kind of thing in my future. Not the actually managing to arrange a meet and greet cos that's not remotely in my capacity. But I am already anxious at the thought I won't be able to get her tickets to Taylor's next tour, or that she won't even come to Scotland on said hypothetical tour,or that I will need to bankrupt myself to take her to London or something... the fear is real 😆 so I was so glad for Busy that she was able to make that happen for her kid. And I love (but also felt a bit sad) that she stayed out in the corridor while it happened. She made it happen and let Birdie have that moment but god, as a mum I would have wanted to see the look on their face when it finally did 😕

Also loved Busy's singing and just always always love Caissie full stop 🙂

(I know it's annoying when people say 'come to xyz!' but just putting it out there that Scotland has a comedy festival too - live podcast at the Edinburgh Fringe next year...??)

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Gosh I have so many feelings about this episode. First of all I cannot wait for BPDHB Podcast Tour. I felt a little bit jealous of the Toronto (Torrano) group. You two really gave us all the content. I friggen loved the 45 minute story lead up to Birdie meeting HS. So great so on brand for Busy P. I also really enjoyed Atsuko, she is funny as shit!! The part about knowing who you aren't was soooo ON POINT!! I felt so seen when she talked about sourdough making. I'm not a fucking baker and while the pandems was happening I certainly didn't want to make fucking bread. It is and was a depressing thought. Thank you Busy for always being so steadfast in your conviction for the rights of all people for abortion care and singing that beautiful song. I was equally pissed for you about the checked bag debacle. She clearly had it out for you. As always love love love you guys!! Seriously come to SF!! I will pay to sit and watch you for the full pod length of 3.5 hours. <3

Expand full comment
Oct 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Anne, I thought I was the only person who made zero bread during the lockdown. It was the one time I was in no mood for bread!🤣🤣🤣

Expand full comment

Loved the episode! I think the live format is great. I recently saw Atsuko at a comedy show & she was fantastic! I'm so glad y'all had her as a guest. Hoping you'll do more live pods when it suits you because it seems like such a fun format/element for the pod. 💞

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

The energy of this episode was on another level! Caisse, your witty observations, delivery and timing stole the show and I AM HERE FOR IT! I would love to hear and see more.

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Loved this episode! Definitely would come to a live show! Caissie -- come back to CT! Busy can just drive on over! ❤️❤️ I’d also definitely come to any shows nearby, but, you know, a Connecticut show would be fabs! You both are the best!

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Totally felt somewhat relatable to Busy waiting for Harry, waiting for Busy and a Caissie in the meet and greet line up, part two (outside, not in the lobby). Honestly, while so grateful to have met them there, wish I could have bumped into them in a more natural setting. I froze and had nothing interesting to say when it was “my turn”. 30 second intro with someone you don’t know but love is a hard thing to navigate!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 29, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie and Busy, So glad you both felt special with the audience and in the alley (😂) and being showered with love tangibly and intangibly. We all love and admire you both so much.

Hope to be able to do the same someday in DC!!! 🙏🏻✨

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022·edited Sep 29, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I was at the Toronto show and loved it so much!!! Since I'm sure that you're going to do more shows in the future, I have two suggestions. First, guests aren't necessary. The guests were great, but we're all coming to see you and Busy and the guests kind of take away from that. Second, a Q & A towards the end of the show would be amazing!!!!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Loved Busy’s song, it was so moving

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Agreed! I had no idea that Busy could sing like that! She was amazing!!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’ll come to a 3 hour love show! Nail painting and snack eating and all! In.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Love show? Also live show. Both shows in one!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie - I live in Minnesota and although I have flown on smaller planes I can confirm that they also have the larger planes too!

But I am also embarrassed that I have not yet been to Paisley Park.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I was in the audience for the live pod and it was really great to be there and experience pod in real time with other listeners. Also, Caissie your self-hemmed pants looked great!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I kind of want merch that says "former teen"

Expand full comment
founding

Enjoyable episode as usual! :) I was wondering if you could look into a virtual ticket option for future live podcasts? The company Hopin might be a good fit. I don't work for them, I promise LOL, but I purchase virtual tickets for Gymcastic live shows through Hopin and it's a great service!

I definitely felt FOMO not being able to "see" what was going on, but still felt emotionally connected to the show. I am sure everyone there felt it ten-fold! <3

I'm so happy everyone went to the back alley to share their love with you both. This podcast has made this crazy world much more bearable and I am sure it has changed so many lives for the better. Thank you for continuing to share your lives with us. :)

Expand full comment
author

That sounds so cool! We were only invited by the festival & so the business of ticketing was completely handled by them. We can always suggest that option, though!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Busy singing Not a Pretty Girl has me in tears. ❤️

Expand full comment
founding

Same!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Loved the live pod. So happy that T.O. was your first place to try out the format. Can't wait to have you back!

Caissie -glad to hear that your place in PEI is okay. And thanks for the shout-out for PEI. I have family that rely heavily on tourism, and your shout-out helps.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I was able to go to the live podcast and am SO grateful to have had that experience. I brought my friend who desperately needed a break and she had such a great time. She had never listened to the podcast before and just loved it. ( She will be downloading all the episodes) Cassie you belong on stage! You were perfect up there! Busy you have the most beautiful voice - gave me Natalie Merchant vibes! Thank you both for such a great time ❤️❤️

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

What was Birdie's reaction to meeting Harry?!? I want her after story!!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I have about 40 minutes left. Busy just said “It’s weird to be a person right now,” and it’s so quiet I think the entire audience is holding their breath with me. You are both so suited for a live audience and the pod translates so well.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Just got to the end of the Birdie story.... and I am just so stoked for them!! There is nothing like a mother’s tenacity!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Excited to listen! I hope there will be other opportunities to see you both live! (Tampa has a cute histrionic theater downtown).

Expand full comment
founding

I’m so excited to hear this episode!!!!!! And how cool to hear about Paisley Park too!

Expand full comment