49 Comments
founding

About a week late here but why are all the bathtubs disappearing from my life?! We moved into a new place 2 years ago and unfortunately it doesn't have a bathtub but I love the place so I compromised. My in-laws remodeled their guest bathroom and took out the bathtub and put in a walk in shower with 2 faucets to make it easier for them to wash their dogs. And lately many of the hotels I have stayed in don't have bathtubs. My 7yo hates taking showers so we found an adult sized foldable bathtub. If you're familiar with the Stokke Flexi bath, it's that but a small adult (like me) can fit comfortably it in. 🤣 If I knew how to post pics here I would because it is ridiculous.

Expand full comment

I'm still unsure or missed how she fell? Tripped over her shoe or was it just a complete fluke? Gosh this was a such a wonderful listen. Caissie that comment on rather than letting go set it down was word magic ✨. Sometimes it is hard to let things people items narratives go because as Busy said there's still something there or that needs addressing. I friggin love it. Much love ladies

Expand full comment

Nearly ate it down the stairs in the attic of my work because I was taking pictures while walking. FRIDAY. In heels and a Halloween bat headband! It’s a 120 year old mansion. My boss witnessed it and we had a good laugh: “she died doing what she loved best.” 🎃

Expand full comment
founding

Re: cookies swaps. I’ve never participated in one (though I love cookies) and am now in charge of organizing one at work for a 100-person department, some of whom are remote employees. How does it work? Does everyone just bring one batch of cookies and leave with a selection of everyone else’s? Do I need people to sign up with what type of cookie they’re bringing? And I’m thinking the remote people will just have to send each other full batches... if anyone has any ideas or experience to share I’d love to hear it!

Expand full comment

I just caught back up because I was behind! Not typical for me, but it’s been a time! Anyway, I can’t remember if it was this one or the last one when Busy was eating the apple, but, Caissie, I was just at the grocery store, and the man next to me at the self-checkout bought Red Delicious. I laughed. Just wanted you to know! ❤️

Expand full comment

Atlanta listener here! It’s so wild that when Busy was in Atlanta, she found the one little pocket of town that’s largely dominated by wealthy old white republicans. I know the exact Houston’s she was talking about and it’s in the only small part of the city that’s not going all out for Stacy Abrams. At first I thought it was a bummer that it didn’t show off Atlanta in the best light, but maybe it was a good thing and she actually made that guy think about it??

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Re heels & falling.

Every single fall I have had I have been wearing flats. I subscribe to Busy’s theory that I’m just paying more attention in heels...

Also. YAY FOR NETFLIX ! 🤩

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I had such a similar falling down stairs experience a few years ago, kept being all 'yes exactly!' listening to the story.

I also somersaulted down several concrete stairs and was totally fine, only had a scraped knee... I was also wearing a heavy coat, which helped I'm sure, and my messenger bag landed just right to be like a pillow as I rolled over my head.

Afterward I sat on the bottom step where I landed, shocked I was okay and wondering what magical force had carried me down safely. 🤯

Expand full comment
Oct 28, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’m gonna totally nerd out…..Do we have any other Certified Infection Preventionist/ RN’s out there? Hearing the bathtub talk I had to cringe 😬 I think hotels have gone away from bathtubs because are hard to keep clean and don’t get me started on jetted tubs, Bactria breading grounds. Also, if a room has a tub that isn’t used regularly you gotta flush those pipes. Also, their death traps hahaha! Stay safe out there everyone.

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

So excited to see Girls5eva season 3 is coming to Netflix!!!!!!!

I hope it gets the reconnection it deserves!!!!!!

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Would love an update on the fundraising challenge from a (two?) week ago.

Would love to hear an update on the micro dosing.

Glad Busy was ok!

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Only Busy Phillips can take a "I fell down the stairs and it was scary and confusing!" story and turn it into over an hour of riveting listening. So glad she lived to tell her tale!

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Also forgot to mention for any fellow Canadians who may not know, season 2 of Girls5eva is available to stream now! I'm watching it through W Network on demand, but it looks like it's on the Global TV and Stack TV apps too :)

Expand full comment

Thank you for this tip! Been trying to figure out how/where I can watch it for months, and just listened to this episode and decided to peruse comments here.

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Absolutely amazing that Busy walked away with only a little scratch after that! I've only fallen down stairs once and I went backwards onto my butt so I didn't hurt myself at all, but I absolutely cried afterwards. That sh*t really shakes you up.

I had to pause after the Josh Meyers story and immediately text my sister about it because we were both big fans of him on MAD TV back in the day and I had no idea that had happened to him!

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Saw length of podcast and did a little internal dance!!

Also. Looking over from France I’m praying that the US manages to not act like some sort of unhinged lunatic and vote the better options in... because Republicans are terrifying!

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I like red (and golden) delicious apples, but fully cop to having broken taste buds!!

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I mean it’s truly a miracle that Busy didn’t die or have some serious injuries post tumble.

I just want to call out; when something like this happens even if you do get injured it really does mess you up.

I had a truly horrible fall almost 3 years ago, bad ankle injury but what shook me was I could have cracked my head on the pavement, had a bleed all sorts, died even but I lived to tell the tale

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Can we share pics on Substack? I don’t see how. Cause I went down my basement stairs HARD last summer and my face was a freaking mess. I haven’t listened to the pod yet but I want to say I’VE BEEN THERE! 😘

Expand full comment

Light team in effect 🤘🤘

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thoughts:

So glad Busy is ok!! Falling as a full grown person is scary. I’ve fallen on winter ice and my tailbone was sore for two weeks.

The ballots take homework everywhere. Our Idaho ballot was a chore.

Caissie, your wedding outfit was absolutely stunning. Perfect.

People who have worked at restaurants are always courteous in my experience. It’s such hard, stressful work. IYKYK. Also, being a steadfast extrovert, I always try to win over the server too.

My dogs fart more than anyone in our family 😆

Thanks for the pod! 💖

Expand full comment

I'm days late to participate in this discussion, but in rural NC where we're still voting on if alcohol or an ABC store should be allowed, unfortunately our ballots aren't too much of a chore. half the republicans are running uncontested 😔 and they're so confident alcohol won't pass it was a yes or no question

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

In a bit of serendipity, I was finishing marking my ballot just as Busy and Caissie were encouraging us to vote. A couple of thoughts.

While I did carefully follow all the rules to make sure my mail-in ballot wouldn't be challenged, I did not "vote my dick off". I kind of like my dick and even though I'm no spring chicken, I'd like to think I still have a use for it so I'd like to keep it around.

Second, while I did do my best to vote for people who I hope are being truthful on their support for issues that are important to me and are not extremists, I am getting awfully tired of basing my vote on which candidate I think sucks less than the other candidates. It would be nice to believe that a candidate is actually qualified for the office they're running for. I never thought that in my 60's I'd be giving thought as to where I could move that might have a government that governs fairly and believes that they are elected to actually serve the people who elect them.

But then, I live in Pennsylvania where our many rivers generate so much mud that Mr Fetterman and Dr. Oz will not likely run out and stop throwing it at each other before election day. It's exhausting. If only we had laws that forced political candidates to only tell the truth in their ads instead of what we have now.

I'm glad that Busy wasn't injured by her fall. The picture of those steps look much steeper than the description. Gus Cat tends to run up or down our steps when I'm walking down to the family room. Mostly he runs up when I'm walking down to see what I might have left in his food bowls and down because he was disappointed but is hoping that when I sit down I'll open up his snacks bag. I'm always telling him that one day he's going to make me fall and I'll break a hip and he'll be squashed flat.

I am glad however that my ballot came on time. This weekend I'm headed away for my first vacation since 2019 and while I asked for my ballot in plenty of time, I was getting worried that it wouldn't get here in time for me to use it before I left.

Take care everyone. Remember, it doesn't cost anything to be kind and it keeps you from being barred from restaurants😀.

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Have a safe and awesome vacation!!

Expand full comment
Oct 27, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thanks!

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Totally hear you about “which candidate sucks least”. Our state in a nutshell.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hi! It’s me! The one person who likes red delicious apples. Ask me anything. 😆

Expand full comment
author

ERIN! What are some of your other favorite foods? I need to know!

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hmmm. I’m a big fan of carbs. Italian food is my fave. Favourite fruits are bananas, strawberries, blueberries and pineapple. I’d take all of those over an apple, but I do enjoy a red delicious when I want an apple! Fave junk food is potato chips. I hate fish/seafood, olives, and raisins. Maybe the taste of a red delicious is like cilantro and tastes different to different people based on genetics??? 🤷🏻‍♀️ I like cilantro, by the way. 😁

Expand full comment
author

Well, we have bananas, pineapple, potato chips & Italian in common. Enough to have a party! I'll keep my olives, you keep your delicious apples & we'll agree to never speak about fish ever. I'm allergic to cilantro. Legitimately. I mean, I also hate the taste but I would't be a huge baby about it if it didn't give me hives & swollen lips/ears.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I think that sounds like an amicable arrangement! 🤣

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I laughed out loud in my car when Caissie was talking about delicious apple people. It’s the closest I’ve ever heard her come to insulting innocents.

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

She was very passionate about it! Lol!

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

🤣🤣🤣

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hi Bestie! I’m here to admit that I also like Red Delicious apples. 😁💖🍎

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Heeeeyyyyyy! We should start a club! 🍎 😂

Expand full comment

Red delicious lovers - peel or unpeeled?

Expand full comment
founding

If I’m going to get fancy, I keep the peel on, but I slice it into 6-8 pieces. Then I sprinkle cinnamon on it, and eat it that way. If I want to get REALLY fancy, I’ll heat the slices in the microwave for 30 seconds. It’s like dessert! 😁

Expand full comment

My thought is it's the peel that's the prob and the innards can be tasty. And especially warmed with cinnamon!

Expand full comment

Sometimes I do a red delicious (or other apple) in 8 slices with peanut butter. Makes for a delish lunch.

Expand full comment

Oh yeah! pb and apple are clutch

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

INDEED! 🤣🤣🤣

Expand full comment
founding
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I think the next line of merch from Busy & Caissie should be the fart pillow with accompanying lavender spray. 💖😁

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hahaha

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022·edited Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Oh goodness, I didn't imagine them to be so narrow! All those years of falling practice really helped your team pull that one off! I would have IMMEDIATELY looked at my doorbell footage!

Expand full comment

Jeesis. After listening to the podcast, and hearing this crazy tale, it’s something next level to see the actual stoop! Glad to know you are not badly harmed! xo

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

falling down as an adult is so much more scary and painful, huh? I’m glad your survived your fall, Busy!

Expand full comment
founding

Shout out to your Light Team❤️💕🐻🙏🏻

Expand full comment
founding

“Chew your Life Properly” is lifesaving advice too!!!!!

Expand full comment