51 Comments
Sep 21, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This pod really reminded me that there is always hope and they we have to lift each other up! I hope everyone is having an awesome week and that something you really want to happen comes to pass.❤️

Expand full comment
Sep 17, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I usually listen “stop and go” style over a couple of days on my way to and from work. This week I have a couple vacation days so listened in entirety while making/canning salsa.

I am feeling so blessed to be Canadian and have access to universal healthcare!!!

Also SO thankful that we have government paid maternity leave! It was 6 months when I had my son 22years ago and went up to a year by the time I had my daughter 20 years ago. 18 months is an option now and the leave can be split/shared between both parents. Many employers and unions (not mine) will top up the 55% ish government portion of mat leave payments to match the full wage. We Canadians are pretty lucky.

I apologize for being one of the annoying ones last week saying “come to MY city!!!” I mostly just wanted to make sure you knew there were fans all across Canada even though we can’t all go. Which of course you already know, lol.

Anyhoo, great pod this week! Loved meeting Liz and Lando, and LOVE what you ladies do every day to lift up and support other ladies!!!

Expand full comment
founding

Same! When Busy said she ate it and it didn’t seem to trigger an allergic reaction, I thought we’d try it.

It’s lovely.

Have a great day!

Expand full comment
Sep 16, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I lived in Philadelphia, where the spotted lantern fly infestation coincided EXACTLY with the start of Covid. Fun fact: their waste is a sticky black substance that ruined my (teeny tiny) City concrete backyard. Meaning we lost any access to our outdoor space because it was always raining sticky black poop. And it’s a part of why we moved to the suburbs a year later. The trauma of the spotted lanterns is too connected with the trauma of Covid.

Also. I really loved this episode bringing attention to the community responsibility to create change. I love the concept of that list for ppl who need work and hate that it had to exist and that it filled. I hope Liz gets insurance and that the public discussion she started helps others.

Expand full comment
founding

Yasssss. That’s so true. I appreciated this episode and truly loved the care they took with Liz’s situation. Her story needed told. We all benefit from witnessing true compassion. Yay

Expand full comment
Sep 16, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

all of our health care is pathetic. I work for local government which is self pay for health insurance, so our "per occurrence" maximum is very low if you had something seriously wrong with you. I banged my knee on my desk a few months ago and it's still in pain daily so I gave in and went to the ortho Dr this week. the xrays were just wide enough passed my knees that they happened to show bone lesions in my leg. we think it's benign, but they're sending me for more testing to be sure. and all I can think is "holy fuck I'm going to bankrupt us if this is cancer." I'm so mad, this should not be anyone's first thought to a possible medical diagnosis

Expand full comment
founding

I’m so sorry about this. I feel the same way. We have good insurance but at 54 years old I refuse to see a doctor for anything for fear like this. I hope you don’t have cancer, I hope you’re okay. I hope you’re not feeling bad.

Expand full comment
Sep 16, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

In the world of housing policy, the opposite of a NIMBY is a YIMBY. Which is fun to say. But I also like the alliteration of "not a NIMBY" both are good.

Expand full comment
Sep 16, 2022·edited Sep 21, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I loved the latest pod with Liz so v much but honestly while listening to how challenging it can be a new mom I couldn’t help but think how hard it continues to be. I have 2 boys, 12 and 7 and I find myself in unchartered territory so often still. Will there ever be a time where moms feel okay about our role in their kids lives?

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I so appreciate the candor and support on the pod as Liz Jenkins shared her ongoing SAG/AFTRA journey. It’s this nexus of a long-held disregard for women’s work as creatives and a purposeful ignorance about the bodies of people who give birth. This show consistently connects the dots between someone like Lindsey Graham picking a week at random (and calling it late-term) and someone saying Liz’s best hope was to get work. AND a shower-sex scene for the first day back three weeks post-partum!!!!! Thank you!

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Can confirm that falling down as an adult is THE WORST. I actually just started physiotherapy this week for a fall I had an entire month ago that messed up my foot/ankle and is still giving me issues. At least it makes me sound like a cool, athletic person when I say that I hurt myself playing volleyball...no one needs to know that it was actually during a family BBQ and I was playing with a 6 year old 😅

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thank you Cassie for looking into the JFL ticket issues. I am actually relived to see it wasn’t just me who found it difficult to understand how to get a ticket to just your show. I’m sure all the other shows are great but I’m not interested in seeing any of them! I’m only interested in going to see yours. I had ALMOST given up but look forward to getting tickets on Friday.

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

What is everyone doing their best at this week? 💕

I made a list, and checked off 2 long overdue tasks. This is a win for me. 😉

Expand full comment
founding

I’m doing my best at eating bread. I ordered the Wildgrain box as advertised on the pod yum yum yum !!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 16, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Bread is my weakness!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Sending so much love and strength to Liz! She truly sounds like an amazing person and mom.

When she said “my baby needs me”....I cried. The feeling of leaving your child after just 3 months is heart wrenching.

Expand full comment
founding

Right?! And hearing what people from other countries think of our barbaric society was very interesting

Expand full comment

Yes! It’s insane!

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I am in a union as well, part of I.A.T.S.E, below the line for film and television and in the arts, so we are always forgotten about. Same as Sag, which you have to contribute enough to be eligible. I had this same argument with my benefit office almost 15 years ago when I had my daughter. We had to go on Cobra, it was astronomical. I wasn’t working, first due to a union strike 5 months before she was born and then I chose not to take work and stay home with her. It was completely insane then and completely insane now how not a thing has changed! It makes me so mad to hear this same story a million times over that a mother has to chose between taking care of her baby and qualifying for health insurance. Like Liz said, and infant needs their mom/ parent whenever possible.

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie, thank you so much for talking about the JFL festival. I've been trying to get tickets since you announced that you were coming and it seems that you can only get tickets if you purchase a pass (which I don't want). I've sent several emails to the JFL people but haven't received a reply.

Expand full comment
author

Check our timeline on Insta for an update!

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Will do!! Thank you!!!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This is what I love about the podcast, you switch it up when a need arises. Loved hearing Liz Jenkins and appreciate how you gave her a platform to discuss the challenges of healthcare. I raised my kids in Australia, but was on a short term contract which meant no paid maternity leave. However the law enables people to come back part time. In general healthcare in the US is skewed towards the privileged as are many other laws (yep I’m thinking about the dickhead Lyndsey Graham who Just love the sound of his own voice). God I had lots to say so sorry 😔

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Love to Liz, so frustrating she’s in this position. I had to pay for COBRA for two months after I left my library job (had to resign for Covid reason). It’s insane. It’s so true that people in other countries are shocked at our healthcare system, ugh. You both were so supportive and kind and she was so touched. So relatable and I wish it wasn’t!!!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Duran Duran is named after a character from Barbarella! But two of them are brothers! I think? Because they have the same last name: “Taylor”. OK I haven’t finished listening so maybe this was already covered!

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Two guys w the last name Taylor -- Not related!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Ha. I somehow knew that but as a pre-teen with a HUGE DD poster on my wall I always imagined they were brothers and that I was married to Simon in fantasy land.

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I love when there is a guest on the podcast because Caissie is truly gifted at complimenting people. She always takes the time to say something incredibly thoughtful and just so nice about each guest to their face. You can often tell that the guest is genuinely surprised because she is really, really good at complimenting!!! I'm also a new mom and listening to Caissie compliment Liz and telling her she was a great mom was just so wonderful!! Caissie's compliments - a truly positive and bright thing in this garbage fire world!

Expand full comment
author

Alicia, that's a wonderful compliment to me. Thank you so much. You made my day!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 14, 2022·edited Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I pressed pause three times before Liz mentioning it was her baby crying because I snuck away for time to rest with my AirPods in while my MIL graciously took over baby duty. I laughed out loud when they said it. Definitely felt like I was losing my mind! I never hear any of the background noises they call out, but I can probably hear a baby three blocks down at this point!

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Perfect episode to listen to for my birthday!! Pearl Jam is my all time favorite band so I was ecstatic to hear all about Busy’s evening. 🥰 Also very grateful you ladies discussed the bullshit that is “healthcare” and maternity leave (or the lack there of) in this country. Get the conversation started and make change happen! Liz was such a lovely guest host!

Love you guys!! ❤️

Expand full comment
author

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, LESLIE!!!

Expand full comment

Ahh! Thank you Ms. Caissie! Honestly means so much! 💕 You and Busy always make my Wednesdays! Sending you all my love ❤️

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Happy birthday!

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thank you!! ☺️

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hey fellow Pearl Jam fan! 👋 They’re my fave as well. I’ve been to a ton of concerts and no one comes close to being as good live as Pearl Jam. I went to two shows in Canada last week and they were phenomenal!

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

We went to Quebec City! So fun, how about you?

Expand full comment

Ottawa and Toronto! I heard Quebec was great too! Jealous that you guys got Purple Rain. 😊

Expand full comment

We live in NY, and was at the MSG show too and got to see it again 😍

They also did it in the Spring when they toured together as the Earthlings. Josh is such cool addition to PJ!

Expand full comment

Omg. I’m so jealous! MSG was pretty much my dream set list. Release is my white whale song. It’s my favourite and they’ve never done it at any of the ten shows I’ve been at. And Chloe Dancer/Crown of Thorns would be a dream come true!

I was unsure if it was necessary to add Josh when I first heard he joined as a touring member, but he definitely has added some cool stuff to the performances. He’s a great musician.

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hey there! Omg so jealous!! I’ve seen Eddie on his solo tour in 2013 but have not had the pleasure of seeing Pearl Jam. I’ve had tickets twice and both times I have not been able to go and have had to sell them. 🥲 I have no doubt they are anything short of amazing live! It is definitely on my bucket list and I will one day make it to one. I am manifesting it! ❤️ p.s. I love your name my daughter’s name is Erin 😊

Expand full comment

Oh, and happy birthday!!!! I got blinded by Pearl Jam and missed that initially. 😝

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Eddie solo is also amazing! If you get another chance to see Pearl Jam, definitely go for it! Last week was my 10th show and it was just as magical as the first. The energy of the crowd is like nothing I’ve ever experienced. And every show is a different set list so you never know what you’re going to get, which makes it that much more exciting!

Hello to your daughter! I love a fellow Erin! 😊

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I literally screamed when after they had just talked about using bands as inspiration for baby names and Liz brought up Weezer....

I NAMED MY SON JONAS! HIS NAME IS JONAS!!!

Whew one of those... these people are my people moments. It made me so happy.

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Oh he’s that face behind me in the profile pic!

Expand full comment
author

JONAS IS SO CUTE!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thank you! The joy that kid brings to my life is beyond measure.

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Such a great episode and I hope everything works out for Liz Jenkins and that she is able to create change within the sag insurance. It is so ridiculous another way women are treated and it is stressful enough having a new baby and then worrying about making sure health care is in place. This episode was so relatable and I just had all the feels for Liz as I remember when my kids were babies and feeling all that. I just wanted to hug her. I love that you both put her at such ease and made her feel loved.

Expand full comment
founding

Liz is adorable!!!!! Loving this episode and loving Biz and Caissie as ever. I absolutely live for this podcast. Happy Wednesday everyone!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

So much relatable shit! From mom grief/guilt to health insurance and pregnancy (boy, do I have my own story as I’m sure we all do) and the painstaking art of letting go. Caissie, the way you talked to Liz about self encouragement and then the moment that you spoke directly to her about being a good mom, well I soaked that in for myself too! Love y’all so much, thank you for bringing so much cathartic light to all of us!!💗✨

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Still listening and thinking about how Regan started as SAG president 🤔 😉 😘

Expand full comment