68 Comments
founding

Oh my gosh - Did you all see Olivia Wilde on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert? It’s on Hulu and expires Sunday. He was asking her about each one of the dramatic issues associated with the film and she said:

“I think what’s funny is like...I don’t feel like my male directing colleagues are answering questions about their cast.”

It was the best! Stephen agreed and Then went on and talks about how old Hollywood is all male directors and how male directors are monsters.

Caissie/Busy - Her quote is so in line with the spirit of this podcast!

Expand full comment

finally catching up & feel the need to share this tidbit...in November of last year, that blind item site shared a message on their story about how Marc & Busy were separated and seeing other people and that moment was what led me to unfollow them! for some reason, busy is the celebrity that is the most real person to me but I was so offended that they shared something so intimate without the people in question speaking publicly about it! Ever since then I’ve been very anti-blind items when they expose peoples intimate life details

Expand full comment

Caissie: I’m not sure if you’re new to the beret game or not but I asked a longtime beret fan for her top tips:

1) Do not pull down like it’s a beanie. Generally speaking one side should be more creased than the other and cocked at the angle most flattering to the wearers face (and not hanging backwards like a snood).

2) it’s good to have a black one and another practical but flattering color whether that be winter white, claret, camel, red, navy or grey. I found a leopard angora knit one and whenever I wear that I receive many compliments.

3) more retro-ish makeup may be appropriate. Don’t want to look washed out or like you’re walking around with the beret equivalent of a shower cap.

Expand full comment

I hate that Caissie is having such problems with Carvana..here’s a new post from a former Carvana employee on Reddit you might find interesting!

https://www.reddit.com/r/carvana/comments/xbszvx/former_carvana_employee_of_2_and_half_years_ama/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=ios_app&utm_name=iossmf

Expand full comment

Fortunately (and unfortunately), there is an app for that! Style Seat allows hair and makeup professionals to post a profile where customers can review their service and book appointments through the app. I didn’t find my hair stylist through the app, but I book her through the app these days.

Expand full comment

I love that you are doing this show in Toronto-I hope you book more shows Caissie, maybe after Duluth you can swing thru NYC and do a show with Busy before going back to LA. NYC needs Busy & Caissie💞

Expand full comment

Just wanted to pop in here to say that I really want the ZocDocKnockOFF MUAH app to happen. I haven't found anyone I really love to cut my hair in Los Angeles (of all places) in forever. I have the simplest stupidest haircut request and I just can't find someone who can do it. I think it would be great for hair, makeup, facials, massage, nails, & maybe stylists!

Expand full comment

We like Harlot in a West Hollywood. But I also have a simple stupid haircut request and don’t want to pay womens hair price for my short ass hair!

Expand full comment

Style Seat!

Expand full comment

Also I just had the wildest period where there were times I felt nothing and when I pulled down my underpants they were filled with everything, so it happens! Especially if you're not cramping.. you're just less likely to notice it. <3

Expand full comment
Sep 9, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Just started listening to this one and I have to chime in that I absolutely have gotten surprised by my period and it has absolutely gone from zero to sixty! I had fibroids and it was INSANE. Had a hysterectomy this summer and I’m sooooooo happy to be off that roller coaster. I’ve had blood dripping down my legs on the beach. I’ve had blood seep through a super tampon AND a super pad (yes wearing both at the same time) and had to wipe blood off of a bar stool and wrap my husband’s jacket around my waist and bring paper towels to sit on in the Uber ride home. Traumatized to say the least.

Expand full comment
Sep 9, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’m glad ivv be have you guys because I didn’t know any of this was happening. I did see a picture of Chris Pine with the hair and the ankles and thought he was making some interesting choices.

Expand full comment
Sep 9, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

😭😭😭 I haven’t been able to even start this episode yet. I’m a teacher and this is our second week of school. I literally have no time outside of work, except to eat and sleep. I hope I’ll finish the pod this weekend.

Expand full comment
Sep 9, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I've bailed twice on Niagara Falls haunted houses. I see you.

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Upped my medication this year after tiktok (blessing and curse) algorithmed me to seeing things about ADHD and anxiety especially the kind with obtrusive thoughts. I explained it to my dr who said, “uh, yeah, let’s try you on a little bit more of that Wellbutrin.” Bless her, after a period of getting used to it and making sure to eat so i didn’t feel nauseated, i feel so so so much more emotionally stable.

Also on the DWD front, Harry exclaiming that he had to pop over to Venice to spit on Chris Pine, at the NYC concert, slays me. The absurdity of some of the hubbub coming from this movie makes for good hot goss, but oof, it’s a lot all at once. &&& then Miss Flo in her purple outfit with an Aperol Spritz is such a vibe &&& Then to see the social meed’s pic of her H&MU peeps wearing shirts that say Miss Flo, i love that for her :)

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

For Busy and anyone else this applies to I am also a Prozac girlie! I had to up my dose a few times to really get it going. I still feel sadness and grief about the things happening around me, but it helps me not completely fucking crumble! Everyone is different of course, but wanted to share in case this helps anyone ❤️

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

finished the pod this morning and as usual loved it! here are my hot takes!

i agree with busy in that i want to believe chris pine and harry have a friendly bros kinda banter and the exhibited that at the festival 😂 and maybe it was a chivalrous act to take the negative media energy away from this female vs. female drammmaaa. but nonetheless i’ve enjoyed partaking in the DWD discussions!

i get very strange vibes from the deux moi page. i followed for a while but the “spotted” felt like an invasion of privacy and tbh i didn’t understand the hype but to each their own. 🤷🏻‍♀️

i do wish busy would’ve posted her reply because it was ✨golden✨

caissie! i know you were trying to be patient and kind to carvana but to be honest you have given them so much grace, so i definitely believe the tweet was definitely warranted. i hope there is a resolution soon!! sending you all the good vibes!

thanks again ladies for sharing your time and thoughts with us each week! this community is something special! 🖤

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

🗣️ Toronto Besties!!! 🗣️

JFL details are up:

https://toronto.hahaha.com/en/shows/busy-phillipps-doing-her-best-podcast

I don't 100% understand the ticket structure but it looks like our girls are counted as a ComedyCon event, so we'll need a pass with at least one of those credits on it. If anyone knows this world and can better explain how the heck these tickets work, please rescue me. :)

Expand full comment
founding

Ok folks, sharing what I think I've figured out in case it helps someone...

The site was down most of the day today but seems to be back now.

https://toronto.hahaha.com/en/shows/busy-philips-doing-her-best-podcast

(Hilariously, they "corrected" the spelling but still missed the mark.)

I don't know if there's a better way than this, but here's what I've managed:

1) Choose a type of pass and buy it via Ticketmaster. They appear to be various combinations of headliners and/or other credits. BPIDHB is part of the ComedyCon lineup so ensure you've got at least one credit for that in the pass you choose. I'm not planning to do much else during JFL so the cheapest version I could find was a no headliners / two credit pass.

2) After you've purchased the pass on Ticketmaster, you'll (eventually) get an email from JFL asking you to activate your pass with them. That's basically setting up an account on their site and linking your ticket to it.

3) Once that's done, look up the BPIDHB show and you can reserve it.

I'm hoping that's it!

Expand full comment

Looking forward to it! I added my ticket/pass to my Apple Wallet so I believe I’m all good to go! Awesome that the show is at 5pm too. I’m not a late night kind of lady :)

Expand full comment

lol'ing at how Busy was just talking about the constant misspelling of her last name, and from that link it appears that even JFL can't get it right 🤦‍♀️ Please do release a recorded version for us substackers if you're able to! (Also sorry I can't offer any help on the ticket weirdness, Allison!)

Expand full comment
founding

Went from double-l, double-p to single-l, single-p... So close yet so far... 😂

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Crisp Pine made me LOL, Caissie!

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Just wanted to say that my Apple News Feed included an article from People Magazine that featured Busy and Birdie. Nice article. Great pictures. Brought an extra smile to my week that day.

I also have to say that I'm shocked with the whole Carvana thing. I have to say its surprising that instead of trying to fix it they didn't just total the car out and give you your money back. It's nuts. Hoping it works out. Soon. Not having a car when you need it just sucks. And with the heat you're having, driving around in a haunted truck from the 70's without AC is not a viable option. You'd think they'd at least have okayed a loaner when it became clear the repairs would take forever.

I do have one issue going on at my house. My over the range microwave is about shot and so I went microwave shopping today. I finally do have one being delivered next Tuesday but I was surprised at how hard it was to find one with a plain white finish. They had black and stainless steel finishes but those are not for me. Compounding the difficulties is I didn't need sensors, or delayed start or convection heat options or the ability to cook more than one thing at a time. I'm a single man. I heat vegetables or make popcorn. In the morning I take the bacon pan out and cook bacon. I don't need fancy stuff.

Also, as I contemplate traveling again, I was distressed to see that Delta is teaming with some chefs to provide a culinary adventure when I travel. Once again, I'm not fancy. All I want is a simple meal with food I recognize. Preferably without grits.

But in the bigger scheme of things, if this is what I have to worry about, I'm doing ok. Keep doing your best everyone. Be kind and remember all you can do is all you can do. Also keep a good thought for those of us who struggle to get used to being ok with going out to do things again.

Also as its that time of hear again, Here We Go Steelers and for those of you who like me are NMState Aggies-AggieUp and Wobble On!

Expand full comment

Herman, you seem like a delightful person. I found this comment to be so wholesome. ☺️

Expand full comment

Thanks. Don't know how delightful I am, and truthfully the word delightful and my name don't often collide in sentences. But I try hard to be kind and helpful when I can. Thanks again and enjoy your day!

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

IIIIFFF there was a “I’m the Female Chris Pine” merch situation I would be here for it.

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I say it every week but I ducking love this pod. It’s truly just like the kind of chats I have with friends. All the DWD stuff was totally a continuation of a group chat I was having 😂

I just wanted to thank you guys for being so open about health issues. Advocacy is so important. Also ever since Busy mentioned her ADHD I realized that could be part of my issues and mentioned it to my therapist. Fast forward a year to now and - low and behold I finally started meds last week and wow..life is different. Thank you guys.

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

So the whole taking a selfie in the street scenario I was very confused. Is it like a Perez Hilton style website / Insta where anyone off the st can spot a well known person and then take their pic and tell everyone where they are ??

I hate these types of sites, like in the bin, if I want to know what’s going on with actors I like I just google them to see what they’ve been up to and find a reputable source (variety and the likes) to read about their next project.

Expand full comment
author

Yes.

Expand full comment
founding

I have a question, I didn’t quite understand when Busy said she was asked if she was Lauren (regarding her Deuxmoi snap) and that it was to check if she was who she is??? Can this be clarified to me? I’m on that part and my brain...it’s scrambled 😜

Expand full comment

I think the girl was trying to confirm that she was in fact Busy and not just a lookalike lady and the route she took to do so was by asking if she was Lauren

Expand full comment

I must be living a sheltered life but have never heard of deuxmoi !!

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I just saw that the original merch is for sale again - can anyone comment on the quality? I want either the Doing my Best or To What End sweatshirt - but want to make sure they are super soft :)

Appreciate any feedback and any sizing suggestions.

Hope everyone has a good rest of the week :)

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I love my sunset “doing my best sweatshirt”. True to size. If you are a lover of oversized you may want to go up a size for that super roomy feeling. Hope that helps!!

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

thank you!!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Please please please come do Just For Laughs Vancouver!!! But have fun in TO!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Yes times a million!!!

Expand full comment

Busy, regarding the meds issue I just listened to an interesting podcast talking about current depression treatment and how depression isn’t necessarily caused by serotonin issues 😳 🤯

As a person who’s had depression for 40 years that was quite the revelation. They talked about available alternatives too. Def worth a listen. It’s the News Not Noise podcast with Jessica Yellin.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Also, just got to part about how much grief is normal and demands to be held and when it becomes something else. Thanks for sharing this, will listen!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

"I just want to feel....I just want to feel scared" on why Caissie wanted the skeleton.

Really feeling that.

Speaking of just wanting to feel - bless Chris Pine. These memes kept me going through a 20 hour heat wave power outage. I'm ALL SET with summer, bring on the skeletons ya'll!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This was the PERFECT extension to all my group chats from this past week. What a blessing.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Loved the pod as always! Wednesdays are now my favourite day of the week 💕

Can’t wait for the Toronto ticket info... I will be there even if I have to come solo!!

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Laughed out loud about the Crisp Pine. 😂😂😂💯

Expand full comment
founding

Oh!

Thank you for the Poshmark Caftan. OMG Caissie it’s so cool. Thank you for the note. I see why Poshmark takes you so long. So personal.

Last thing.

I once got my period while lecturing in a yoga teacher training workshop.

I was the teacher. Yikes.

All over the floor and props and mat. Ewwwwww

Hey!

Busy:

Hon, remember Always pads, how they feature a moisture-wicking surface? Like that was a good thing...

Always Dry-feeling pads mean you can’t feel it!!!!!!!!

Plus “Camp” is one thing but Slumber Party might be more US.

MUAH!!!!!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Came back to comment a PSA to the Besties, charge your crystals this weekend!!✨✨✨

Expand full comment
founding

I get the Jimmy Stewart vibe for Chris Pine. Caissie have you seen Bottle Shock? It’s a movie about wine taste test battles in the 70’s. Bill Pullman is in it. Alan Richter too. OMG. Sexy, Sun-dappled,Seventies Vibes !!!!!!

Expand full comment

Dani, same! Chris Pine in A Wrinkle in Time is such Jimmy Stewart vibes. Honestly, I’m here for it.

Expand full comment

Bottle Shock is so good!

Expand full comment
founding

It is, huh?!?!

Wonderful fun❤️

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This weeks pod was so good, I was so happy to hear y’all’s takes on the whole DWD of it all and YES BUSY YOU ARE THE FEMALE CHIRS PINE!! On another hot celeb goss moment, I really need to hear y’all’s take on the Armie Hammer Doc! It goes waaaay beyond celebrity gossip and into some of the most corrupt things in our nations history that wildly goes back generations in his family. So there’s some celebrity gossip, but also a real conversation about abuse, consent and generational trauma, would definitely be insightful to hear y’all’s takes.

Also, Busy I used to be on the moon cycle and then I swear when the big 2017 eclipse happened I completely flipped to having my period during the full moon and ovulating during the new moon! I know that sounds crazy, but a couple of my girlfriends also said that that specific eclipse messed with their cycles.

I also really relate with you Busy on the grief thing and medication. I have never been on medication and have never felt the need to, but since becoming a mother 6yrs ago and the way existence feels these days, I sometimes wonder if I should. But I always come back to THIS FEELS LIKE A NORMAL REACTION to the insanity going on around us. Also, motherhood/parenthood in general is a lesson in grief because we are always having to let go of different stages of who they are, compound that with any number of things going on macro and micro and you start to wonder how much grief is too much grief?

Anyway, love y’all and so happy for you and Just for Laughs, will be supporting in spirit!!🖤🖤

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

a fun word for ankles is ankies

Expand full comment

I call them anks, but ankies is way more fun

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Ok I have to tell this story:

When I was in my early twenties I had the mega hots for a guy I knew around the town I was living in. He was an artist, very intellectual, funny and just plain dreamy. After several flirty encounters he asked me to go hiking with him. We hiked and talked until almost sunset and then went to his car and started making out (I must point out the tan fabric interior is crucial to this story). By this time it was dark and we had sex and it was amazing. Fell asleep. Woke up at dawn and it was like a murder scene in the front seat of the car. I had gotten my period and didn’t know it during our romp. So much blood. I was MORTIFIED. He was pissed. We fizzled soon after.

Expand full comment

Can we just tell horrible “getting our period” stories? When I was 15 my parents, who did not let me date, let me go to a state park with the boy I liked and his family for the day. We had a long ride back to my house from the park at night and I had NO IDEA I had gotten my period. I got out of his dad’s truck (also with tan interior) and walked up my driveway in front of the truck headlights and went inside. I went to the bathroom only to realize I had bled through my pants SEVERELY! I was mortified and we never spoke of it, but I have to assume I bled onto the seat of his dad’s truck and my bloody pants were illuminated by the headlights for all to see.

Second story: also at 15, I was in history class and realized I got my period and had bled all over the desk chair towards the end of class. Once everyone had left the classroom, I finally stood up and tied a sweatshirt around my waist, looked at the floor as I mumbled “sorry” to the teacher, and died of embarrassment. As I glanced back, the seat was covered in a bloody ass/thigh print.

I honestly never knew when I was going to get my period, but 15 was a rough age for me. Thankfully birth control made it much more predictable!

Expand full comment

I didn’t know either until my thirties. I also never really kept track of my cycle because I had a IUD up until I had my daughter.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Also he ended up being a dick so really I dodged a bullet

Expand full comment
author

Oh my god, I'm glad the sex was good even if the guy wasn't. I'm glad you bled on his car.

Expand full comment

Haha me too in retrospect. Picturing him trying to scrub the stain out is satisfying.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Can confirm (unfortunately) that you can go from zero to gushing blood and not realize it... this happened to me just last week at a performance of Into the Woods - stood up to go to the bathroom at intermission and thats when I realized it.. horrifying, disgusting and embarrassing all at once. How can a 45 yo not know when her period is going to be insane??? Not sure, but let me tell you (and Busy, who is a non believer) that it Sux! Also, Cassie, thanks for jumping in and acknowledging that this can definitely happen!!

Expand full comment

Perimenopause is real, yo. Everything gets crazy up in there. Every so often during peri I’d have a torrential period without any cramp warnings. Bodies are weird, amirite?

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Crisp Pine, well played!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I'm not very far in (it takes me a couple days to get through), but are we ever going to learn how Caissie knew about Brad and Angelina before anyone else???

Expand full comment
author

I think I had told Busy about this before & she must have thought I'd talked about it on the pod. I just knew someone who was related to someone who was working with them at the time & that person spilled ALL the beans to me because they were worried if they didn't tell someone they'd inadvertently blurt it out at the worst moment. The person didn't even particularly like me, I don't think, but they did say, "You seem like the most trustworthy person I could say this to, so..." I was honestly shocked at the time! I'd seen & heard a lot of stuff by that point, sure, but I really thought Brad & Jen were forever, I guess.

Expand full comment

Omg thank goodness you filled us in! That was such a tease 😂

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Lol! Thanks for sharing!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thanks for sharing, Caissie!! I was dying to know as well...lol.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I want to know too!!

Expand full comment