32 Comments

I used to watch Long Island Medium, whether it's real or not I appreciated her approach to it. And I like the way she explained it how of course its vague, there's only so many ways people can pass and messages are often the same. How often to do we have different people say the time things throughout life, I guess afterlife would be similar. I like the idea that someone on the other side might have something they need to just get out there to help those of us left behind and that the messages are ones like, don't be sad anymore, I'm good.

Pineapple on pizza YES - Lido's and Chi Chi's here in the SFV have the best pineapple and ham pizza. Jalapenos kick it up a notch, too.

The Americans - the wigs dont even change their looks that much! I loved that series but there were times I seriously thought "you know this face. the faces dont change." But you can definitely anchor wigs for sex pretty easily. If someone's going to tug at it though you're gonna feel it.

Expand full comment
founding

Thank you for talking out hate (that whole convo) 💛🫶🏼

Expand full comment

I loved this one so much!!!!

Expand full comment
founding

This was such a great episode. I loved it!

Expand full comment

Such a good episode !!!!!

Expand full comment

Loved this! ❤️

Expand full comment

By the by I had a quick thought about the whole Taylor Swift Ticketmaster fiasco. Hopefully I'm not repeating something that's already been said, but I was on vacation and it takes a while to catch up on 9 hours of podcast. Not complaining. It's all podcast gold and I just love listening to it.

Anyhow, I wonder where people are relisting their tickets for huge mark ups and if they hoped to make some quick Christmas money. My point is if Ticketmaster's policy for concert tickets is the same as for sports tickets these folks could be disappointed. Since the start of the pandemic, Ticketmaster changed how they pay you for selling your tickets. When I list my Steelers tickets for example, it used to be that I got my money literally hours after the tickets sold. Now, I don't get my money until the day after the event. Ticketmaster did this due to the possibility of an event being cancelled. It made it so that they could give a full refund to the person who bought the tickets and since they return the tickets to me, and I'm the original owner, it's easier for me to deal with the team for refunds or credits. So if it's the same for concert tickets, people relisting tickets won't get paid until sometime next year. No quick profits for them.

Also, before they send you your money you have to send your tax information to Ticketmaster as they report your profits to the IRS as its taxable income.

Expand full comment

Theresa said “It is what it is but it’s also what I make it.”

That really spoke to me, these are hard times for so many people, today I had to put my Dad on the crisis list for long term care & it was hard but it wasn’t as bad as it could have been & I’ve been repeating Theresa’s words to myself many times over today.

Thank you for this podcast 💛

Expand full comment

It always brings me a little extra delight when you guys are able to do the pod together in person!

Expand full comment

Super interesting podcast! Theresa seems like a kind person. Personally, I don’t believe in mediums or connecting with the dead, because I truly feel there is no higher power and life is random and when we die, we become part of the Earth in a continuing cycle of rebirth. That being said: if it brings comfort and joy to people and they believe in it, I completely respect that. I am, however, into crystals and tarot and astrology because of exactly how Caissie explained, it brings intention and focus to aspects of our lives. Can you predict the future? I don’t believe so. But you can use those tools to connect with yourself and others. Also I’m a big time believer in placebo, although I’m too analytical to trick myself so I have to be unaware or at least in a state of uncertainty.

Thank you for this weeks pod, food for thought! ✨✨

Expand full comment

OK from "sidewalk shell game" to "misinforming police about a murder" what is my level of anger and frustration at this interview going to be?

I mean, I have to just take all the crystals and astrology in stride, I can't get away from it. But these folk prey upon people's grief and empty their wallets while denying them true closure. I'm kind of surprised because y'all know crypto is a scam but give someone like her a platform? I would love for you to interview a woman who can talk about the brain mechanisms we are at the behest of and functions underneath anything like tarot or birth charts or mediums and what the true harm can be. Dr. Kiki Sanford? Cara Santa Maria?

And yes, I haven't listened yet, maybe this is going to go a total other way than I imagine... I hope so.

Expand full comment
founding

One of the things I love about this podcast (and others that it has introduced me to) is that it's opened my mind to different ways of thinking. Specifically, it has made me realize it doesn't hurt anyone to give up some of the certainty that I once held that crystals, astrology, mediums, etc are bullshit. I've moved to more of an agnostic position - there is genuinely no way to know with 100% certainty and if it gives someone comfort and connection, who am I to argue with that?

Are some mediums/psychics total con artists that are taking money from vulnerable people? I'm confident that at least some are. But I'm also confident that's true of many other people in society - from church leaders to insurance sellers. Your definition of 'true closure' may be accepting someone is dead and theres nothing left of them (a definition that I lean towards as well), but I think there's also room to respect the definitions that others hold, that may include some form of an ongoing relationship. And whether that's magical thinking or based in reality, I'll never really know. And does it actually matter? The placebo effect is real. And if it makes you genuinely feel better, who cares if you're taking a sugar pill? We should all use critical thinking and watch out for scammers in all areas of our lives. But if someone is living within their means, financially, and wants to use some of their money to get a reading, I don't really see anyone being hurt by that.

Expand full comment

Agreed! I leaned heavily on stuff like crystals and manifesting a couple years ago when my mom almost died. During a time that was very scary and uncertain, it brought me a little bit of comfort to put my trust in the universe and think that everything would work out for the best. Do I think lighting a candle and holding a crystal is what saved her life? No, but it offered me an opportunity to feel like I was doing something in an otherwise helpless situation, so I'm thankful for that.

Expand full comment

Yeah I actually went the other way, I've been trying to find a term for it, like a "recovering astrology addict" or something. So I totally understand this reasoning,"what's the harm?

" I mean, yeah church leaders and insurance dealers are also on the grift, that doesn't mean we give up. And I completely understand why people are turning more and more to magic lately, the world is scary and chaotic. Maybe there is something out there that connects the dots to make it seem as if there really is rhyme and reason. This is also why people turn to QAnon. Same part of our brains.

The reason why you shouldn't take a sugar pill even if it makes you "feel better" is that many people then tend to ignore the symptoms they are actually exhibiting or they forgo life saving medicine for their very real cancer.

Maybe this medium truly believes she's channeling something. And maybe this one person needed to hear that their son was happy now. What's the harm? And maybe they keep coming back to that feeling and spend all their money going to that person just to talk to their son and they never move on. Or they give up looking for their child because a psychic said their daughter was dead when she was alive!

There is a whole lot of harm that is happening.Buying into this trillion dollar industry gives it legitimacy that extends to the darker, more dangerous and crackpot areas. I mean I believed in chem trails! You're a mark. Maybe not for the one who really believes what she's doing. But there are lots of other trains of thought that lurk behind there.

I know it's unpopular to fight against all the woo, and I'll probably get piled on, but watching everyone go through all the same stuff I have already is so frustrating. And I can just hope that folks can move through and get to the other side of the examination of reality which to me is way cooler.

Expand full comment
founding

Appreciate the convo! I respectfully disagree. Conspiracy theories are incredibly dangerous. I'm with you there. I disagree on "the woo" inevitably being a gateway drug to conspiracy. That might have been your experience and I do not dismiss that. But I personally think the two aren't as universally connected as you're positioning them to be. Qanon and other conspiracies are based on dogmatic tribalism. Can astrology, crystals, and mediums be something that people can be dogmatic about? Sure. But does that mean everyone who uses them does so in a harmful, problematic way? I don't believe so. If someone is using a crystal instead of doing cancer treatment, I personally think that's a problem (while respecting their right to make that choice), as you alluded to with the sugar pill analogy. But that's not what I was referring to when I brought up the placebo effect. I was specifically referring to your comment about not getting true closure after the death of a loved one because you believe you can still hear from them after they've passed. That's different than having cancer and forgoing treatment. Based on what you've described of your experience, it sounds like astrology was a slippery slope and very intertwined with an openness to conspiracy. That puts you in a great position to detect others for whom that's happening and help support them in getting out of it. But I think it's important not to categorically pathologize others use of something that isn't universally problematic just because it's problematic for some. Alcohol and astrology have both been around for thousands of years and your addiction recovery analogy is a good one - some folks can interact with either of those things safely and in moderation. Others can't. Whichever camp you're in is likely due to some pretty innate stuff. But I assert that casual, harmless (and maybe even benificial) use of both also exist. Thanks for chatting it out! And to Busy and Caissie for giving us this 'third place' to do so!

Expand full comment

Not my experience, I broke out of it. Just saying people who don't think critically are ripe for the grift. But I realized why am I fighting it. I need to be making some money so I'm going to be making some cards for each sign of the zodiac! They'll be pretty, and what's the harm? maybe I'll even start doing some readings again too. I need money and people are so credulous and like everyone says it's really the person themselves finding the way, I'm just guiding them there!

It's so much easier just to go along with it, isn't it. I've already pulled some cards and they say this is the best way for me to go! Lemme know if you need any decorative framed original work in any of the astrological signs!

Expand full comment
founding

Ladies, I'm still only halfway through the podcast episode, but I had to stop and tell you that I am continually blown away by just how smart and articulate and wise you both are. You talk about so many things that I think about and are important to me, and I feel like I learn something (or many things) with every episode. I'm so grateful for both of you! Thank you ♥️♥️

Expand full comment

Caissie you were such a trooper listening to her try a reading about your dad. I had to fast forward that whole section. Oof.

Expand full comment

Loved this episode. I've seen Theresa Caputo on TV for years. It was exciting to get to know a bit more about her.

Here are some other thoughts. First, I was shocked that someone discussed a personal conversation with someone else. I've always been of the opinion that if someone tells me something it stays with me. It's not my story to tell so my job is to keep my mouth shut about it. Maybe I'm old fashioned, but that's the way it is.

Next, I never thought about a spy's wig falling off during sex, but I've always wondered how they kept those mustaches on. They have to glue them on somehow, but it just seems the glue would fail with all the moisture in that area of your face.

Third, Caissie, I'd love some day to have lunch or dinner with you but if a pizza with pineapple shows up on our table, I'm walking. 🤮. Pineapple on pizza is like using ultra- slow motion during replays in professional sports. Just because you can do something, doesn't mean you should.

Finally, this week, I'm trying to do my best at having patience. Had to deal with automatic help systems for an app that didn't work after it was updated. Finally got a live person but they couldn't help either, but I took a shot at deleting it and reinstalling it and that worked. It took a couple of hours and by coincidence I wasn't picked to provide a rating or feedback. Also, my tv quit working and so I had to call Geek Squad. Waited two weeks for them to come to my house to confirm it didn't work but that they could order a new computer chip for it and that should fix it. Had to order the chip and so we'll see how it goes in a couple of weeks. Also, in my opinion one of the biggest lies told to us by corporate America are the words "Easy Opening Package". But I've not lost it yet so all the stress management and meditation seem to be helping. But it is a drag to watch my programs on my smaller screens.

Hope everyone has or had a Happy Turkey Day. Myself, tomorrow I have a ribeye to grill and a potato to bake. Weather is supposed to be sunny and warm here in Pittsburgh, so it should work out.

Always remember as the weather gets cooler. One good turn will get most of the blanket.

Expand full comment

This was a delight to read. Enjoy your ribeye and potato!

Expand full comment
Nov 24, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I had a lot of questions too about the wigs in The Americans and found the same question distracting. I can only think of one instance where Clark’s wig is discussed but I don’t want to accidentally give too much away cause I think it’s a later season. I guess it’s just something they hope we’ll forgive them for because otherwise it would be hard to quickly recognize who’s who if they didn’t have extremely different looks? But yah, I agree there’s no way those wigs are staying on irl.

Expand full comment

I’ve had the same thoughts regarding the wigs...... and it’s not like they are spending hours getting into their disguises.

Expand full comment

Especially considering this would be like 1980s wig technology!

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

HERE FOR WHAT NOT TO DO AT A FUNERAL

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thankful for both of you and this podcast! So much love to Caissie and Busy! ❤️

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

As always, loved the episode!! I agree with Busy - do NOT wash your vegetables in the dishwasher 😂

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I loved the interview! Especially for Caissie, such an amazing moment.

I feel like I either don’t have a light team or that I’m not seeing their messages, or if I do they really like screwing with me!

Also. The US really needs to figure out it’s issue with guns... because from the other side of the Atlantic it’s really just insane to see on the news so often.

Enjoy your Turkey day holiday!

Expand full comment
founding
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Okay, here to say that my vag has definitely bleached underwear before and I thought there was something wrong!! Thanks for discussing ✨

Expand full comment

Noooo! Totally normal! Vaginal discharge is pretty acidic for most of the month - so it oxidises the colour in your undies.

It gets more alkaline during your fertile period to help sperm on its way.

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Another great episode! I was so touched by the reading for you, Caissie!

Expand full comment
founding
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This was a great episode and was extremely comforting to me in numerous ways. Thanks for being a bright spot in my week! You both are always doing your best at that!

Expand full comment
Nov 23, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

OMG I am PUMPED for this one!!!!!

Expand full comment