47 Comments

Separately - a male friend posted over the holidays asking how to deal with a teen boy who is newly obsessed with Andrew Tate and his kids are homeschooled so his son just came upon this man while watching youtube. Now he's becoming fully radicalized and arguing with his parents that they're the fools for not listening etc... Terrifying! He got a lot of good advice and it was heartwarming to see a dad trying so hard to make his sons better.

Expand full comment

I have never heard of this limbic system issue before but I am going through something like this since being told something completely infuriating and shocking on Monday and listening to this today was a big ah-hah! moment. I am looking into how that works and talking to my therapist but it was very interesting to hear it put into these words.

Expand full comment

My oldest is a high school senior. Doing that go through old photos for the yearbook, etc at the moment.....which takes hours because then you start watching the silly videos that you recorded, etc etc. Looking back at some photos (20+ years ago...got off track, but I was a hottie then...lol) and I hit a point and I was she's dead (my maid of honor....still miss her dearly), she's dead (my aunt), he's dead (my uncle), he's dead (child's great grandfather on dad's side), etc.....my child was in horror....but you have to make light of it and be thankful for the all the people still alive in the photos.....look at your uncle what a baby face.

Expand full comment

Hi!! Your weekly podcast keep me going. I know when you guys think you ramble on about stuff people are like what the heck, but I personally love it even more! It always feels like I’m hanging out with friends 🥰 love you both!

Expand full comment

Love Harvey! But I know him from The Magicians. I’m one of those people who knows I’m going to love What We Do in the Shadows but for some reason I haven’t watched it yet but this interview finally convinced me I need to do it as soon as I get home from work tonight.

Expand full comment

On the topic on raising boys v raising girls, my husband and I talk all the time about it. We have two girls, and we feel that it is almost easier in today's society, it's _more acceptable_ in society, to raise strong, independent, bad-ass woman, than it is to raise emotionally mature, respectful men. This toxic masculinity & misogyny runs deep and far. And I really feel like the parents of boys have a fucking massive job to do in their parenting, modelling the behaviour that builds the kind of men we need in today's society.

Expand full comment
founding

Some thoughts that resonated - just finished listening today: when Caissie said it’s not binary about Marc and Busy and Busy said Marc was her family!! When Busy was talking about what was needed to raise strong feminist girls!! And Caissie I remember you talking before about not liking any water on you or if something you have gets wet, that it feels dirty. I’ve thought about this many times because I’m like that too. Also can relate about water going down wrists - no thank you!

Can’t wait for Newark!!💖

Expand full comment

I am woefully behind on the podcast. Which, in retrospect, probably has to do with my collapse into depression in November... weird how these things have flags that you don’t pick up on.

Anyway. I’m determined to catch up!

Expand full comment

Aw, loved this one. Harvey is so great on Shadows!

Expand full comment

Hello! More episode love. And another vote for releasing the live shows! I see no dissenters here 😉

Expand full comment

I loved listened to your live show! Hope you will keep posting them!

Thanks for the reminder, I bought tickets to the SF show. Can’t wait to see you soon!

Caissie - have you tried magic eraser for makeup removal and/or wet washcloth like others suggest.

I really enjoy listening to all the people you interview and spotlight.

Expand full comment

You asked about live shows: When Pod Saves America goes on tour, they post the live shows in place of the regular as they have them. Another show runs a 3-5 minute thing before where they can do housekeeping and set-up.

Whatever you do will be both enough and welcomed! You two have so much goodwill and trust built up with your audience.

Expand full comment

Also, Aubrey Gordon @yrfatfriend on the social meedz has a new book out and would be a killer pod guest

Expand full comment

I love both of you so much and am sorry for the loss and heaviness you’re going through. Light team is on your side and so are we. xx

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I loved the conversation with Harvey this week. Y’all are awesome and I hope you get some rays of light this week, wherever they come from. I do also hope we get to listen to the live shows. I loved the Toronto show and can’t wait to hear more. Love to you both! 💖✨

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I also hate washing my face, but I finally found the motivation and tricks to get it done. I had melanoma a few years ago, so I am always covered in sunscreen and I hate sleeping with it on even more than I hate washing my face, so that’s my motivation. The trick that has worked the best for me is to wash my face earlier in the evening. Around dinner time I usually change out of my “hard” pants if I am wearing jeans or my work clothes if I’ve been to the office, so I just wash my face then. It isn’t much more of a burden since I am getting undressed anyway and there is no reason we have to wash our faces right before bed. I think my moisturizer sinks in better this way too. I don’t have any tips for the water dripping though, sorry :(

Expand full comment

Oh man, so sorry you both had tough weeks/continue to go through it. Despite it being rough, your journeys are very relatable, and really do help us friends of the pod! I once had an acquaintance tell me about a mutual friend's very sad passing right before I went into a commercial audition. I was mad at myself for being "off" that day, and found this story very healing. Both of your honesty is always such a gift. Thank you!!!!

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

2 things:

- Caissie I haven’t had to deal with being the person who handles your dead parents estate, but I did have to deal with trying to get my Dad removed from an investment account of mine while he was dying of cancer. There were so many hoops to jump through and so many phone calls as to why x wasn’t the correct way to complete what seemed like a simple task. It was torture and I can only imagine how tough this is for you.

- Secondly, anyone who mentions on the side that someone has died and at a party no less is a terrible person with no emotional intelligence.

Expand full comment
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Cassie, thank you for helping me put a name to those white bumps on my face. I didn't know they were called milia. They drive me crazy. So now I know how to handle.

Also, I appreciate how you and Busy took a break and the time needed to get through the podcast. You gotta do you first and us who love you all will be here waiting for when the time is right 💗

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Here to say I’ll have FOMO if you do *not* release the live shows! I’m still confused as to why that was a low performing episode. I’ll also never understand the sound quality snobs. Like, I guess I get it if you’re a professional, but if a pastry chef can get down with a cake from a boxed mix on their personal time, it seems like we can listen to non-studio recordings. And aren’t most podcasts that these days anyway with the Zoom of it all??

I remember being stalemated a few times waiting for death certificate to do anything with my mom after my father died a few years ago. People are… hard. Pretty sure I cried at the local Social Security office. Big hugs <3

Expand full comment
founding

Highly highly recommend Maintenance Phase. Aubry Gordon has also written two books as well regarding diet myths and grifts etc.

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Just a quick note to say that Ghosts is really good. We just discovered it in December and a couple a night has been a perfect forget the day and ready for sleep watch! We could l found it on Paramount+ in Canada.

Thank you both for your honesty and love for yourselves xo

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 20, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Cassie I too absolutely hate washing my face in the sink and showers vs. baths! I also have such sensitive skin it’s bonkers. My solution is a cream cleanser style wash that you put on a dry face and rub it around then you use a wet washcloth to wipe it off and rinse etc. so there’s no splashing water around. I like the brand Pai Gentle Cream Cleanser which is so gentle but also kinda pricy and honestly old school cold cream probably works just as well. But the method is key. If you get one that can go on dry and be wiped off with a wet washcloth vs. a foaming kind that needs to suds up it avoids the water splash and dripping down your arms and all that mess.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Love Harvey! I was so excited for this episode, so thanks for delivering!

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thank you both as always for showing up with vulnerability, wisdom & humor 💖 Tangent selfish question: Will we get to see any more Busy Tonight episodes? Love ‘em! (And hope you didn’t get in trouble for posting them!!)

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I can relate to the PO story and customer service- I try to be understanding unless they are out of line in my POV. Last week I was almost in tears when I called a new Behavioral and Mental Health office to ask if I could schedule my daughter as a new patient. The person who answered the phone jumped down my throat to tell me they are not taking new patients and need a referral. She would not let me get a word in edgewise and was really harsh. I held back tears and calmly asked if I could ask a few questions and said this was the first time calling their office. She paused but was still rough on me. I was so rattled when I hung up. I was dumbfounded. Clearly not the best role for this person who berates patients or parents of patients who are looking for assistance. But maybe she puts an armor on, maybe she had a bad day, who knows- that is what I had to leave with.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

What We Do in the Shadows is definitely one of those “that’s a show?! It’s been on that long?!” Shows for me lol. However, as a toddler mom I was delighted to learn he is the voice of Funny the Funhouse on Mickey Mouse Funhouse 😂 Loved his interview and stories about Japan!

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Not finished with the episode yet but just here to say that I will definitely listen to all the live shows, if you decide yo record and upload them!

Expand full comment

I listen to every single episode. So I vote yes to the love shows.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

What We Do in the Shadows is one of my absolute favourite shows, so I was so excited when I saw this week's guest! Also thanks to you both for opening my eyes about the whole Ozempic thing. I've only ever heard people raise that fat-shamey 'leave it for diabetics!!!' argument, so you raised some great points!

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I LOVE Harvey so much! This was wonderful!

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

AAAAAAHHHHHH!!!!! I love love love love Harvey. He is truly one of my favorite people on the planet. This episode was awesome. I am so sorry that both Caissie and Busy are really going through it right now. Life is like that sometimes. We don't get to choose whether or not things are hard. I appreciate that you both keep showing up and doing your best.

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

It's here, THANK YOU BUSY & CAISSIE!!!!

Expand full comment
founding
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Oh Caissie... your story about the PO. I have been there and just want to say that you are allowed to cry or yell or be a b*tch to any customer service person who doesn’t realize your parents just died. You do not have to be the nice version of yourself. Not right now. I’ve been in tears to insurance companies, utility companies, lawyers, you name it after I lost both my parents. There is so much paperwork and it is a unique kind of torture that it forces you to remember that they’re gone and speak it out loud to strangers. Sending you the biggest warmest hug and I’ll be seeing you in Newark (just bought tickets!)

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’m just 10 minutes into Harvey’s section, but he is a delight!

Expand full comment
Jan 19, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I just posted this on the last episodes comments, but then this got posted so I will comment here:

Hi Caissie, I am listening to the podcast re your moms death certificate - I'm not sure if this is a thing in the US (I'm in Ontario, Canada) but most agencies here that you have to deal with after someone dies will accept a funeral director's proof of death certificate. It definitely helps move the process along because here it takes like 3+ months for a death to be officially registered with the province and get an official government death certificate. I have lost both of my parents in the last year, I'm so sorry you are going through this. It's truly the worst.

Expand full comment