27 Comments
Feb 28, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

You are all so generous about the audience behaviour - I thought they were rude! Excitement and appreciation, sure... but there seemed to be almost heckling! Well done for keeping it together. Maybe it's just my experience of Australian audiences that are more subdued. I am usually behind on listening, but with these live episodes being shorter, I am caught up. But so sad that I will never have a chance to see a live episode (I live in Thailand... want a tropical holiday Caissie and Busy?)

Expand full comment
Feb 27, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hi--

Truly enjoyed these live episodes. The guests were great and the music was a special treat. These were musicians I was not familiar with and I always enjoy hearing new music, especially when it's music that is well, and I'm going to show my age here, musical. A lot of what we get today is not.

I know you two were a bit worried about the sound when you started this mini tour, but it worked out great. I think this is because you picked venues that hold live performances and are geared to support them. The only time that I've experienced unsuccessful sound from a "live" podcast is when some sports guy chooses to host a show from a sports bar and between the venue not being set up for this and the fact that the bar generally stays open and there is a lot of noise in bars, it's generally a disaster. Your shows were a treat to listen to.

On to other topics. Caissie, your note about keeping the storm drain open was greatly appreciated. People who take the time to do stuff like this are truly doing God's work. When I lived in Idaho, I had a storm drain in front of my house and during the winter after I'd clear my driveway I'd be out chipping ice to make sure the drain was clear. A lot of people laughed at me as I did that, but when it'd warm up and the snow and ice melted and their driveways flooded because they didn't take the time to keep their gutters clear, I'd just sit inside and it was my turn to laugh. But in all seriousness. water is one of the most frustrating thing when it comes to doing damage and keeping your storm drains cleared is something pretty easy to do that can save you a lot of problems.

I also appreciated Busy's mention of the big bathtubs in one of the hotels. I'm also a person who likes a good soak. Probably the best one I had was at the Old Faithful Inn in Yellowstone Park. This was back when I was more active and I used to go up to the park with my bicycle and ride through it. One year, I ended up with a room that had one of those big cast iron enameled claw foot tubs. It took forever to fill up, but once it was, it was just heaven to soak in after a day of riding through the park. The only downside was this was back in the time when that part of the Inn didn't include phones in the hotel rooms. If you wanted to order room service you had to walk down to the end of the hall and there was one phone that everybody used. The issue I had was about halfway through the soak, I thought that a glass of wine sure would be nice, but I didn't want to get out of the tub and go through the process of what I'd have to do to get to that phone to order it. Just shows how important a bit of preplanning goes.

Anyway, thanks so much for sharing those live events with us. Truly appreciated and enjoyed. Take care everyone. It's been a strange month here in Pittsburgh. Los Angeles probably has received more snow than we did in February and there were days we were surely warmer here than they were. It's one of those times where instead of enjoying it, I'm just waiting for the other shoe to drop! But we've enter Lent and the Pittsburgh fish frys are happening and that's a good thing.

Expand full comment
Feb 24, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This ep is super fun!! You gals really kept it together with the rowdy crowd and I gotta says, you were a lil rowdy right from the start too ;)

Did they really buy your mom's house??? I love this.

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

"We call that a Boston speedball." 😂❤️

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Boston was truly such a vibe, being there for the live podcast was incredible, and all of the emotions came through on the recording of it, all the feels ♥️ And listening to all of the songs again brought back such joy! And Caissie I almost gave you a crystal owl instead of the angel...wishing I had gotten both for you after hearing your insane 🦉 story...I love hearing you retelling stories from your childhood 💛

Expand full comment
Feb 23, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Glad you released it - not as crazy as I imagined! The music was really amazing and special. Sidenote: I am ready for a presale of "50-year-old Orphan." Gently encouraging Caissie to write it - even if it's just a substack essay. XOXO

Expand full comment
founding
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Anyone else think “the owl aced out in his nudes” when Busy was describing how the cage was damaged and the owl escaped? Just me? Okay cool. 😂

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

oh my goodness, that bottom row middle one - such a great photo! thank you to all involved for making these shows happen! hope there were more highlights than struggles!

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I really enjoyed this podcast, and I'm glad Boston brought you comfort, Caissie. Also, apparently my claim to fame is that I can recognize "Maybe" from the very first note -- and what a beautiful rendition.

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

If you don’t do a live show per se, maybe rework it to be a mini-camp. Pick a hotel, we’d all stay there one night, do some camp-y (and/or campy, sure) activities during the day and have a sharing circle and singalong at night. Maybe some breakout sessions so it isn’t a massive group the whole time. Crafts! Reiki?!? Brunch the next morning and we’d check out. Lord, feel free to make me brainstorm more because I have some IDEAS starting to bubble up!

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

The SF show was so fun -- and gave me and my long distance bestie a wonderful reason to reunite! “I’m the Busy - she’s the Caissie” 👯‍♀️ The live variety show needs to be revived! Thanks for leaving your families to entertain us! We appreciate you both!

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

LOL'ing hard - going fishing an only catching an owl?! Losing the plot of your face. Thank you.

Expand full comment
founding
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

The chaotic energy didn’t come through nor did it spoil the episode! All three shows were great! I wanted to share my WH squid tee picture from 1980 here but we can’t share images so I posted it to the FB group.

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thank you Caissie and Busy for being willing to go outside of your comfort zones. I know you brought so many people joy - both people who were able to be there in person and people who had a lot of fun listening to the episodes, like me! I hope that you will consider doing more shows when you're ready (one in Chicago/the Midwest please!), but if not that's ok too!

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I hope you do continue the live tours and one is closer to me! I'm sad I wasn't in SF/east coast to attend these because it looked like so much fun! Understandable, though, if the cost to produce/travel is not borne out by ticket sales. Girl's gotta eat!

Expand full comment