50 Comments

I didn’t end up going, consider my ticket a donation. I just couldn’t drive another 40 minutes there and back. I had already been in the car all day.and I thought Newark was just over the Goethals Bridge. I dressed up and stayed home. I didn’t have anything Valentine’s Day related.

I told myself I’d regret it, or if I didn’t go I _CANNOT_ regret it. Things happen! I know you ladies of all people would understand.

HOWEVER

I cannot listen to the show, I will not ever listen to it just to keep myself from feeling stupid and guilty!

Expand full comment

These photos are awesome!

Expand full comment

Thank you so much for letting us have the podcasts of the live shows! Loved loved loved this NJ Galentines/Palentines “prom”. Had so much fun envisioning it in my head. Phoebe and Teddy were awesome and y’all’s singalong was perfect! 💕💕💕💕

Expand full comment

Caissie, your jokes were out of the park at this show, and I'm only part way through the episode. Someone probably posted this, but Busy's guess for Leo's headphone music is "O Fortuna" from Carl Orff's Carmina Burana, a cantata based on medieval drinking songs that became a pop culture classic used in everything from The Omen to Paul Blart: Mall Cop. Thanks for sharing the live shows!

Expand full comment

Nice work on figuring out Leo’s headphone music LOL

Expand full comment

In the words of the great Mindy Lahiri, “best friend isn’t a person, it’s a tier.” 💜 enjoyed the pod, as always. Thanks, ladies!

Expand full comment

I'm so glad you guys have been posting the live shows - this one was fantastic and I lol'd so many times!

Expand full comment
founding

After arriving and standing in line for the "comedy show" that turned out to be, not Busy & Caissie, but Bill Bellamy...confusing...we found the right theater and it was SO GOOD. I had trouble getting someone to go with me because it was "all the way" in Newark from the city. But the friend I brought came skeptical and left obsessed. And while I didn't get to meet Busy & Caissie, I was lucky enough to say hi to Kirsten at the merch table! She was everything and more! THANK YOU!

Expand full comment
founding

I enjoyed the live show in NJ so much! Getting to be in that venue with all the positive and friendly energy and watch you all on stage was so fun! And then to get to meet you both, even though I could tell you were both completely knackered, was the icing on the cake. I wasn’t sure whether it was worth also listening to the podcast this week ... but it totally was! And I think I’ll listen to the songs over and over. Ted Leo was completely new to me, Busy’s voice is amazing and I was so happy you joined in to sing Cassie!

Expand full comment

Thank you for sharing the live shows with us! I’ve enjoyed listening to them all but I have to say this one may be my favorite thus far!

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This was amazing to listen to while I was walking my dogs. Laughed out loud many times. I commented in the FB group but will put here too, my dad called the Damien Omen music "the morbid tabernacle choir" . Also Deux Moi refers to Leo as "headphones Dino bones"

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I switched to Tidal too!!! EFF Spotify

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

“We have sweaty butts” 😂😂😂

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

My BFF and I had a blast at NJPAC! It was so nice to meet you both and could have listened to you for another hour. Great show and I hope you are able to continue with the live shows!!! 💖

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for coming out to have fun with us!

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

✔️Phoebe re: Royals

And OMG I met Colin Farrel 20 years ago and feel like I definitely could have made out with him. He’s giving horny.

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

“We wrote our fucking books! Cause no one told me that it was an option!!” 🤣🤣🤣

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

“I would never want to date a male author.”

“I mean, my husband’s an author.”

💀 🤣

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

“Identify with John Hamm in Mad Men” LOL PHEOBE, yes, same, girl.

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Also very much enjoying all the Titanic talk because my 7 year-old is obsessed with the disaster and everything related to it.

AND, of course, Kate Winslet can do no wrong 🙏🏼

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thank you, ladies!

THIS EP IS SO GOOD 🤣🤣🤣

Just did a spit-take to Caissie’s misophonia joke, re: Leo’s headphones

And yes, I went to high school in the 90s and of course had a 19 year-old boyfriend when I was 15 - I met him hanging out on the road outside the high school- hmmm, what a coincidence🤪

Expand full comment

I heard that misophonia joke while driving and I cackled so hard I thought I might need to pull over.

Expand full comment
author

What a coincidence!

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Looking forward to listening in my downtime on holidays.

My friends sis went to Boston show looked fun !! Sending all the pod peeps a Thursday we are all doing our bests from the slopes of Japan.

Expand full comment
author

Enjoy your vacay!!!

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I know you always ask if episodes are too long, but i really could have used another hour. It was such a fun listen! Thanks for sharing the love shows. Helps the fomo!

Expand full comment
author

We would have loved to have stayed another hour ourselves. We had to exit the stage by 10PM sharp & we were so acared to go over! 🤣

Expand full comment
founding
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie, you were killing it with one liners on this episode. I made many good laughs.

Ted Leo was awesome!!! I immediately started looking into this music after the episode

Expand full comment
author

Oh, thank you! I was drunk on PF Chang’s! 🤣 Teddy is THE BEST!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I re-routed a long week of work travel to swing by NYC for the sole purpose of this show. It did NOT DISAPPOINT! 👏🏼👏🏼 What a night. What a pleasure to laugh until I cried and then get a face to face hello! I hope the tour filled your cups too. Live-showing is whole different energy level. Bravo!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for making the trip! So glad it was worth it for you. Altering your route is a lot! (I think. 🤣)

Expand full comment
Feb 16, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

A few clicks in the delta app. They are happy to sell me additional flights 😂 A win for all ♥️

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thank you for continuing to post the live shows! You said they aren’t listened to as much as a regular episode but I love them! I hope there can be a live show in Texas in the near future!

Expand full comment
author

I hope so too! 💜

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Where have i even been living because i had never heard or heard of ted leo before this episode! I feel so uncool. 🤣🤦🏼‍♀️

Expand full comment
author

Wait until I tell you he has a beautiful song called "Me and Mia" - not sure if links works here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1O1c7MEOj_4

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Holy shit if you could see my face right now!!! 😳😳😳 i can finally forget about Aerosmith's "Mia" when it comes to namesake songs! 🤣🙏🏻👍🏻🎉

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I was at Boston, and loved it, but this episode was my favorite of the 3 live ones! 😂

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for coming out to Boston! We had a very fun time in every city. A different kind of fun in every city. I think I was high on the excitement of being able to go home soon, LOL! But then I wanted to stay too.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

What an amazing episode! I so wish I could have been there. Hopefully there is another NJ area show in the near future. Or dare I hope for a Philadelphia show?

Expand full comment
author

We'll see! We had fun, but it's hard work, LOL!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Understandable!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Paul and Janie mentioned Heavenly Creatures on their podcast this week too! Thank you Caissie for getting them on substack!

Expand full comment
founding

It’s the sim!

Expand full comment
author

I'm glad you're enjoying them here!

Expand full comment
founding
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I'm the lady who got the first prize wearing my I WILL AID AND ABET ABORTION t-shirt! Thrill of my year!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for coming! And for representing. xoxo

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Such a fun show. Glad I got tix. Phoebe and Ted were awesome. That guy who shouted "NO" at Ted Leo is a dummy

Expand full comment
author

I don't even know what that was about. But as far as live show shouting goes, this was pretty minimal in our limited experience, LOL!

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Yes, we had quite a shouter in Boston... 😬

Expand full comment