66 Comments

OK-- so some background info-- I had never seen an episode of Busy Tonight until Bear on a Wire. But I listen to the podcast religiously. I was gifted a month subscription that ended today while in the middle of watching the John Stamos episode -- right when she asked her famous question, How do you balance it all? and then it said there was an error and I refreshed and it told me my subscription had ended!! So now it's a cliffhanger. How did John Stamos answer it?!?! Did he understand the assignment? LOLOL Please let me know!!

Expand full comment

Busy, I am only a tad younger than you (36) and I LOVE Odesza! I went to their recent show here in Atlanta (same tour you went to) with a friend and had a blast. She and I share your exhaustion with and avoidance of masculine bullshit at this age/time in history. I actually think Odesza’s music comes across with a hint of feminine energy when it veers from neutral. I wonder if maybe it was just the crowd at your particular show? Group energy is such a real thing!! I wasn’t in the pit for the show here but a friend of mine was and said everyone down there was being respectful and kind and happy in a way that was refreshingly unique for that type of environment. Anyway, if you have even a smidge of interest in EDM they are a great gateway drug and they collab with very awesome female producers and vocalists sometimes too.

Expand full comment

I appreciated the riff on Botox and fillers. I’m 47 and haven’t done any of it though it seems ALL of my friends do. I think it can look really weird. I always want to look natural, even if I guess the older I get, the older I do in fact look! Glad to know Busy feels similarly. Now, I guess I need to go book some facials!

Expand full comment
founding

Can I just say, MM calling Busy “Whimsy” is something I think about randomly sometimes and always makes me laugh 😂

Expand full comment

I find it so endearing though LOL.

Expand full comment

Yes!!!! I remember Busy and Michelle telling the story in a sauna on Busy Tonight. I laughed so hard and still do whenever she brings it up!

Expand full comment

Last year my husband retired from the military, we bought a house in the Midwest where people are kind but beaches are few. I spent a month or so painting many, many walls of our new house while listening to the pod. Please don’t ever change the length. I LOVE that they last forever and you all are imprinted on my mind any time I do any sort of home improvement. I can’t even start the project unless there is a bp podcast to listen to. I’ve spent the last 3 days painting all the trim in my kitchen and it flew by while listening to all the updates - caravana, Ryan, nutmeg...unfortunately the pod ended before the project. 😝

Im a mom of three (elementary, middle and high school age) and my husband is now a commercial airline pilot. By the end of the day, I’m exhausted and just need comfort. I’ve been binge watching dawsons creek! I’ve never seen it (it existed in my college/early career days) and I’m obsessed. I’m a year older than Busy so late 90s/early 2000s nostalgia is what I need. Have any Dawson Creek dish? So many stars all grown up now. I feel like the Busy I see on TV is the Busy we hear on the pod. You’re just SO GOOD.

Love to you both. And thanks for being a friend.

(Ps Caissie - I do not care for nutmeg AT ALL. Make your own dang pumpkin pie and leave it out. I just add a pinch more of every other spice thet it calls for. Follow the recipe on the libbeys pumpkin purée. Easy peasy.)

Expand full comment

Babe I’ve been obsessed with Dawson’s Creek since I was 13. If you need someone to talk with about it, hmu 😂 Have you read Busy’s book yet?

Expand full comment

For those who have not read it, Matt Debenham’s collection of short stories, “The Book of Right and Wrong” is excellent. I bought a copy some ten years ago and enjoyed it very much.

Also here to say, “I never hear Busy’s AC.” No need to sweat it out on our account, Busy.

Expand full comment
founding

So glad you mentioned the AC because I was thinking the same thing! Either they have an amazing sound engineer-y type person who fixes it, or Caissie has super sonic hearing, because even with airpods in and the sound way up, I don't notice it.

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 2, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

“LISTEN TO YOUR AUNT BUSY” may be the best line I’ve heard ever. Merch?

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I've also never heard the ac! Omg young gravy what is happening. also you never discussed the Olivia thing and idk anything!! I just ordered a "to what end?" tee and I'm excited.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’m 43 and just started getting Botox and I got to say, it’s for me. It makes me happy, especially being on stupid fucking zoom 100% of the time for the past eternity. Just a little to smooth my crow’s feet and forehead. I need the IPL, but this is a less expensive option.

Expand full comment

I have so many things to say as I listen that I can't remember a couple of them.

1) Get your scam ON Caissie, SO much of skincare is a scam , so scam them right back. I've been listening to a _lot_ of Scam Goddess and it's not only helped me understand and come to terms with the past times I've been scammed, Laci also has shown me how much trying to abide by certain rules just lets me get scammed over and over. I might try that out too, I'm broke but I want to have nice skin!

I'll write the other thing when I remember it.

Expand full comment

OH 2) an example of Milkshake Ducking was Ken Bone, the guy in the sweater who asked a question at a town hall? And everyone was so into him, and then immediately found out stuff he'd posted on the web that wasn;t great.

Thankfully Natedogg420 is still awesome and is on an episode of Reservation Dogs! A good man.

Expand full comment

Lastly I'm very curious about Nikki Glazer and her episode because she was just on Why Won't You Date Me (with Nicole Byer) and had some really heteronormative and regressive takes about male/female relationships. It was so bizarre! She seemed serious too, so I'm intrigued to see how this has manifested on her special, maybe it was actually a bit.

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I was bummed to hear that Caissie didn't get the part she was asked to audition for. Perhaps that will be the start of other things. I will also say that I think Busy is going to absolutely shine in a drama. I can just see it.

I hope me saying that I believe the best is yet to come for you both is received as cheering you on and not a godawful, late-to-the-game "you know what you SHOULD do..." I know the tension between talent and potential can feel like a burden to creative people.

(I also had a 45-minute true heart-to-heart with a young woman at the Verizon store this afternoon about her hard life and custody battle with her ex, so I might just be in my feelings.)

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

It's been a weird time in the northeast. Busy, please don't worry about running your air conditioner. While I'm sure it sounds really loud to you, I've never heard it. A lot of background noise that people making podcasts hear, doesn't come across when we listen. So far the only things I've really heard are things like police or fire sirens and sometimes if there is construction right outside someone's building, I'll hear that, but a lot of stuff just doesn't come across. And even if it did, it's hot. We're not going to begrudge you running your air conditioner.

I was laughing as you discussed watching the VMA Awards. Myself, I mostly think it's funny that a broadcaster that no longer even shows music videos is handing out awards for music videos. And like you two (and Birdie) I don't know who most of those people are anyway. TMZ runs pictures where they show a kids picture and ask you to guess who they grew up to be, but I gave up. Didn't have a clue who any of those people were. But alas, I grew up in a time when musicians had to have more than one song to be famous and when you were in your car, listening to your 8-Track or cassette player you couldn't skip and choose which songs to listen to. You had to listen to all of them in order. I thought it was pretty cool when portable CD players came along until I found out that in order for them to work, you had to hold them perfectly still or the CD would just skip. What's strange is while I now have access to literally millions of songs on music services, I still listen to the same songs over and over. Just don't like the new stuff. Keep doing your best everyone. Remember, all you can do is all you can do. Celebrate the little things. Keep doing the best you can.

I asked Gus Cat if he had any input, but he just gave me side eye for waking him up from his afternoon nap. Has everyone else noticed that when you see pictures of dogs, they always look like they're smiling, but when you see pictures of cats they always look like they're figuring out how they're going to get even with you for bothering them to take a picture?

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022·edited Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This week's pod so good. Odessa is super EDM but also prob not the best to experience at a concert. I always find that music is a specific vibe. I don't honestly follow many celebrities but those photos of Bradley Cooper were interesting to say the least. And yes Caissie, I agree he definitely has missed some leg days 🤣. The segment on salads killed me. I about died. Just chew a salad. New BPIDB merch? Or in the wise words from my Pop, fuck salads. Busy putting it out there that more people should absolutely be knocking down the pods door because it is brilliant. I totally remembered the murder babies and People mag. It was literally like a daily occurrence. Busy I also miss your stories alot and the true transparency you showed, but also, I understand that it isn't the thing anymore and we've all lived like 1000 years since pandemic times and so it just doesn't hit the same. Lastly I never hear the AC unit? So maybe you can just leave it on? Love you two!!

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

You guys!! I love this week’s pod. I also just got an IPL laser treatment for the first time yesterday, so we will see what happens.

Keep up the saltiness! 💖✨

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

First things first! I NEVER hear Busy's A/C, so you don't need to worry about that interfering with the sound.

Caissie, I literally gasped and then my jaw was on the floor for a good 20 seconds when you told the story of how Matt's sister sold/gave away the book he signed for her. OMG! I don't care how minimalist I am; I would keep all of my sibling's books. Unless I was James Patterson's sister. That man has too many books to store!

I think you were just salty enough and shouldn't worry about calling out Ryan and Bill for bad behavior 15+ years ago. Frankly, we should do a bit more of that in the moment so people can learn from their mistakes faster!

I appreciate Busy telling Birdie's school that they would appreciate worksheets at least some of the time moving forward. I get cranky because my middle school child's assignments are always online, so it's harder for me to review things with them.

As always, I loved the Podcast and download it and listen as soon as I can on Wednesday mornings!

Expand full comment

Same! Never hear the AC? I wondered this too. She should just leave it on..🙂

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Just enough salt, just like I like my chips, borderline too much salt but just enough :)

My husband has bought allllll the scrubbing spinners for his drill. Thinks he's so ahead of the game until they don't work as well and he's scrubbing by hand like he should've in the first place! Elbow grease always works best!

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I was SO EAGER for this forum to express my excitement about Caissie’s name-dropping today! When she last told this story, she wouldn’t say who was trashing her boss, but she’s entered her DGAF era, and I’m HERE. FOR. IT.

(Same goes for the Phillippe reveal, but it’s less shocking coming from Busy. Like, she was going to spill at some point, but I never expected to get names out of Caissie. Keep them coming!)

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

In my own, much less glamorous career in entertainment, I can say the same was true for me — finding work in New York turned out to be so much more straightforward than finding work in LA. People just want someone creative and good for the job who is good to others and that they can trust will finish the job. That’s it. In LA, hierarchies and unchecked ambition seem to muddy up the process.

Expand full comment
founding
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie - look into the laws in California. In Canada, there is a responsibility of the commercial seller to notice and disclose damage and it would 100% be expected to see that kind of damage in the safety inspection. I’m so sorry you are still dealing with this saga :(

Expand full comment
Sep 1, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

After hearing Busy talk about the script she read, all in keep thinking about is the Dawson’s Creek spin off where Audrey brings her non-binary teen back to the Cape. We really need that show!!

Expand full comment

I’d be so into that show!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Hi friends! If you’re in the market for a powerful, lightweight, easy to use drill, this is the one!! The extra battery and the bag are both fantastic accessories. I LOOOOVE mine.

DEWALT 20V MAX Compact Cordless Drill/Driver Kit - Lithium-Ion - 1/2 inch (DCD771C2) https://a.co/d/8LB9FTp

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Delightful as always! Wednesday is a favorite day.

At this point, I wait every week to find out about the car and goddamn carvana. I’m so sorry this saga continues.

Hooray for tools and salty women, and naming the names and standing up for friends and divorcing what doesn’t and WHO doesn’t serve us!!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Yay salt! Bring it on.

Busy, you’re definitely for us! My favorite people are those that aren’t for everyone.

I found that Phillippe story very unsurprising, anyone else? He has a definite vibe.

Great episode, you guys are the best 💕

Expand full comment

Ryan seems like an absolute dick ... heath an absolute legend, Josh also a lovely man even if his intent wasn’t the best at first

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Also totally lol’d at the brick wall blazer scenario

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

So much to say about this ep but first Cassie I make all my pumpkin stuff sans nutmeg!! So many other great fall spices. No nutmeg required. The traditional Libby’s recipe is a great place to start. 😉 hope this means you can enjoy a delicious pumpkin treat this fall!!

Expand full comment

Omg Caissie please at least dress up as feminist Seinfeld for Halloween. Could the boys make a portable brick background for you to stand in front of...

Hot pink blazer of course💕

Expand full comment

Yesss

Expand full comment

BUSY PLEASE DO THE FUCKEN MURDER PODCAST MOVIE!

let’s start a thread your agent can take to the suits to prove they’d have an audience.

💕

Expand full comment
founding
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I am not done yet but need to say - Caissie, can I offer you something? Please consider a points-earning or cash back credit card in your life. Totally agree that you should not carry a balance on it, but we use ours as much as possible as effectively a pass-through to our chequing account. (Pay it off entirely every pay cycle, or more often if we make a larger purchase.)

It's not for everyone, but if you're reasonably disciplined about it, you can rack up a ton of points on money you're already spending anyway.

Expand full comment

Absolutely! I do the same. I always pay the balance in full and cash back definitely comes in handy.

Expand full comment
founding

My husband works for a company that allows you to even pay bills that normally don’t allow credit card payments (like mortgages) to be paid by card. It’s called Plastiq. He’s the master at acquiring and using points! It’s like free money!

Expand full comment

Yes! I work in credit cards and completely agree. Set up an automatic payment for the full balance and get that cash back or rewards! I’m a fan of cash rewards cards - they keep it simple. you can find a lot of cards with no annual fees these days where you get 2% cash back. It all adds up!

Expand full comment

OK when you say the full balance, you mean the whole card? How on earth do people do that? I can't pay off 1000 bucks in one month, that's why I had to get a card. At that was mostly car stuff. I can't set up an automatic payment for anything higher than 30 dollars. I just, I think you have to have money first for this to work?

Expand full comment

this is a week late but we have a credit card for emergency large purchases if we can't pay in full that month through our credit union bc it had the lowest interest,. though minimal perks.

we picked the Disney card as our perk card bc we enjoy vacations there, so we use the Disney for our every day purchases rather than using a debit card. we pay all of our monthly expenses that can be paid via credit card and our gas and all of our groceries etc with that card, so we're able to pay the full balance each month bc we only use it for monthly expenses just to get the perks (on that card the perk is just 1% or 2%. back as basically disney gift cards, discounts at restaurants at Disney and random hotel discounts, so only for a very specific type of person 😂!)

we actually did this originally not bc the perks but bc our debit card got hacked and some huge charges came through that messed us up. the bank handled it quick, but it was still stressful. so, now if we get hacked it's on a credit card until it's sorted instead of real money in our bank account missing!

Expand full comment

I'm not sure what any of this means but if it works for you, great!

Expand full comment
founding

I use the Pay Yourself feature with my Chase Sapphire Reserve card and knock $30-60 off my bill every month instead of collecting points. The card also reimburses you for “travel” (including gas, rides, public transportation) in an amount that’s about the same as the annual fee.

Expand full comment

100000% on the "pass through to checking" strategy. I never carry a balance. I pick the card based on sign up bonus (Amex, Chase) which sometimes can be as big as 100K points. Every single purchase goes on a travel card. Coffee. SALADS. Everything.

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

we pay for literally every single thing that can be paid with credit with a Disney visa and pay it off monthly, might as well earn those disney vacations with our expenses 🤷🏻‍♀️

Expand full comment

We need to do this!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

CARMAX!!! THE SAME IS TRUE FOR CARMAX!! A few years ago we bought a van and 31 days after purchase it would shut off at stop signs. They wouldn’t help. We put 5k into the van and still had issues. NEVER BUY A CAR FROM CARMAX

However... I will always get a quote from CarMax bcs they almost always offer than other places.

Expand full comment
founding

We are in the process of buying a used car from Shift. I hope we don’t have these problems! 😬

Expand full comment

Like Caissie said in the pod... have it checked by an independent mechanic. If the vehicle is local, ask to take it before finalizing the sale. They might be cranky but whatever. Lol. If it’s been delivered to you, ask the customer service person about the return policy, how long, last day to start a return, and confirm what condition the car has to be in for a full refund (no new damage, less than certain miles put on, etc). If you can have it delivered at the mechanic!

We’ve been burned a few times on used cars w/ expired factory warranties. It’s totally worth it to but $$ in at the beginning for the peace of mind.

Good luck!! I hope you get the best vehicle in Shift’s inventory!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Personally, I appreciate a little bit of salt.

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

It seemed so short today or maybe I was so slow getting through my tasks. Either way not too salty to me. Sometimes it's just nice to bitch to friends and that what we are in this community. I aspire to be as kind and diplomatic as Caissie is at a times. Busy and I are the same person and just say Fuck it and Fuck you. I love you both and all of the similarities and differences in between!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Too salty? Never!!! The saltier the better!! I say, load on the salt...!!!!

Expand full comment
founding

Color me rabid and adoring, but This Episode really brings it! Carvanna AND Mr Ex-Witherspoon...we got your numbers!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Absolutely loving it! My children (12 & 13) love it too. They listen to a lot of the podcasts with me each week & enjoy following along with your updates :)

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Ladies ! FYI I can never hear Busy’s AC running. The sound quality sounds solid to me!!

Expand full comment
founding

Same!

Expand full comment

Agree!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I agree!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This saltiness is perfection. Caissie, you’re right - what has not naming names giving you!?

I’m excited for Busy’s new-found handiness. A crafty bitch IS INDEED a handy bitch!

Expand full comment
founding

I’m working my way through the pod. First off, I’m delighted about the length. It’s the first thing I noticed. Yay.

So,

Can we be too salty? If you do everything with love, the salt is like a good thing like in chocolate or caramel.

Salt balances sweet!!!!!

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Getting ready to go do Instacart, and listen to the pod! Wednesdays are my favorite day of the week thanks to you two 🌻

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2022Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Who is Young Gravy? He sounds like a made up character from 30 Rock.

I love the saltiness. Keep bringing it.

Expand full comment

SAME! Every time I hear a crazy artist name I think that has to be a character on 30 Rock. 30 Rock is one of my favorite shows of all time and what I watch and rewatch when I have had a long day.

Expand full comment

The only thing I know about them is the spelling due to Dionne Warwick's tweet: https://twitter.com/dionnewarwick/status/1564328242730782720

Expand full comment