33 Comments
Mar 12, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’ve been thinking about a turkey sandwich since I listened to this episode. Ordered jersey mike’s for dinner. Crazy that even after hearing about Busy puking one up, I still wanted that damn sandwich.

Expand full comment
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thanks for this podcast ladies, you really helped me this week. I appreciate you both.

Expand full comment
founding
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie -- any chance we can get a clip (Josh could make a clip?) of when Busy starts talking about the interesting things from the CDC study to you saying they’re coming for those who are just trying to live? I feel like there are so many places that should and could be shared. Just last week with the teachers at school we had a DEI professional development session and I spoke openly with them about the patriarchy and white supremacy culture -- I honestly feel you and Busy encouraged that in me. It felt vulnerable and I knew it was true. This clip supports that and brings up so much that is an entry point into the conversation.

Expand full comment
founding
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Your favorite (I hope, haha!) Brené-trained Certified Dare to Lead™ Facilitator** here to help point people in the right direction following Caissie's suggestion on today's pod!

Brené Brown's Atlas of the Heart series can be found on HBO Max.

https://www.hbomax.com/series/urn:hbo:series:GYivWaAXEZMLDwwEAAACz

https://brenebrown.com/hbo-max-presents-brene-brown-atlas-of-the-heart/

On Netflix, Brené has a special called The Call to Courage.

https://www.netflix.com/title/81010166

Both are awesome and so valuable!

**If you are a Brené and Dare to Lead book fan, there are about 400 Certified Dare to Lead™ Facilitators around the world who you could engage for in-person or virtual facilitation and coaching for you and/or your whole staff. (Many of these are "courage catalysts" which means they can only share the work with non-profits and schools -- so likely very reasonable rates available.) https://daretolead.brenebrown.com/find-a-dare-to-lead-facilitator/

Expand full comment
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’m so thankful for this podcast and all of you fabulous friends I haven’t met yet! ❤️ Re Birdie’s medical emergency, when my daughter was about the same age she had a similar episode. Followed by another two weeks later. So scary! In her case, it turns out she suffers from Vasovagal Syncope. Though she’s in her 30s, she’s still a fainter, but has learned her triggers. When it happens now, she feel it coming a few seconds before. Long enough to sit down before she hits the deck. (FYI- the triggers that give me migraines makes her faint. SMH. Genetics.) --On a lighter note, I am a crazy dog lady and have tasted my girls’ food over the years. They take chewable multivitamins that smell like Reese’s, so finally I tried one. OMG. Definitely did NOT taste like a peanut butter cup! But the girls love them. Of course, I’ve seen one eat horse poop, so what do they know?! --You know what IS delicious, though? Bread and pastry from Wildgrain! It’s all that Busy & Caissie say it is. It is kind of expensive, so I move my delivery date to every 8 weeks. --Ok! I better stop. Have a great weekend, everyone! ❤️

Expand full comment
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’m so glad that Busy shared Michelle’s wisdom. My bestie did this for me this week too and I always tell her how much she’s the “Michelle” in our dynamic duo! We are around the same age as Busy and I found myself spiraling a bit into the future and what it looks like as well as how much quantifiable “good years” any of us really have left. It got a bit dark, but my friend said just don’t focus on it! She’s right! If we are not alive longer than we are alive isn’t it better to focus on what that means right now presently versus trying to figure out what it will be like when we’re not here? Love to all!

Expand full comment
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

How does the pod get *more perfect* with each week? The stops and starts and emotional journey… Isn’t that US ALL these days. I simply have so much appreciation for what you provide. A space to be seen. Thank you!! ♥️♥️

Expand full comment
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I’ve been dying for a new ep. Worth the wait! 😂I’m dying

Expand full comment
founding
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie, I am one of those lucky people who has Ehler's Danlos Syndrome, frequent hives (usually from MCAS but for me it's a variant of Hereditary Alpha Tryptasemia) and suspected POTS. These three conditions are very often comorbid. Lots of people are getting POTS post-Covid, and there aren't enough knowledgeable doctors to treat them! Thanks for mentioning it on the pod, more awareness will hopefully lead to better treatment.

Expand full comment
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

My thoughts after today's pod - 1. Definitely test (and re-test!) Birdie for Lyme...I know from personal experience, and one test isn't always enough. 2. Picturing Caissie as a child in a cooler paddling around in her basement is the absolute sweetest...and 3. How does Busy not remember the story of Caissie's Mom "Winnie-the-Pooh-ing" while vacuuming her house ceiling?! Caissie definitely told that story before...her recollections from her childhood are stories to remember!! "Plaster flapjacks" 🤣 Also, kudos to Marc for handling the puke bowl!

Expand full comment
Mar 11, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

This is by far not the most important thing discussed this episode, but I need to hear more about Caissie’s nationally touring children’s drum and bugle corps.

Expand full comment
Mar 10, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Caissie, this was my FB post on Wednesday (I don’t use IG). Anyway:

I’m just gonna say it. The fact that we have a day or a month to honor women just shows how patriarchal our society is. How about we start by honoring our half of the population ALL YEAR. How about starting with the freedom to make decisions about our own bodies. Remember: men just let us vote about a hundred years ago. We are far from equal and we don’t need a damn month, we need to restructure our society.

I felt angry and bitter on that day. I ate a lot of Oreos.

Expand full comment
Mar 10, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Just last month I volunteered at an all-ages drag show where part of my job was handing out free pride flags to anyone who wanted one, and I had SO many kids coming up to ask for a flag, I ran out of them twice. There was also a very small 2-3 year old having the time of their life trying to copy all the dance moves of the performers, it was the most adorable, heartwarming thing. But sure, drag queens are a threat to our children 🙄

Expand full comment
Mar 10, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Cassie, I was in the car listing and almost had to pull over because I was laughing so hard at the pharmacy Yelp review!!!! I am so glad you read it. Worth the wait for the pod!

Expand full comment
Mar 10, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

Thank you for getting real about international women’s day!!

Expand full comment
Mar 10, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge

I frantically looked on Wed to make sure I wasn't missing something. This is the best pod and I secretly dream about meeting you both in person. I'm in Atlanta and maybe I'll see Busy at Houstons one day eating a veggie burger...? A girl can dream! Hugs.

Expand full comment
deletedMar 10, 2023Liked by Caissie St.Onge
Comment deleted
Expand full comment